Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Multiple Excision Nasal Dorsum Scar Removal

Homepage Star of February 2014
[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2014-05-13 21:56:13 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: multiple excision, scar removal, nasal scar

We all know that facial scar has great influence on people's appearance, but there are still no way to eliminate it completely without any trace, even to make the scar on the face smaller is a challenge to the plastic surgeons. Skin in different areas of the face has different thickness and color. And the facial skin is also obviously different from the skin in the other parts of the body in pigment and texture. The common repair procedure of facial skin defect such as skin graft, skin flap transfer or skin tissue expansion definitely leave unwanted side effect of discoloration or supplemental incision scars. In this case the modified essential plastic surgery technique of multiple excision is utilized to treat the refractory nasal dorsum scar.

The scar of this beauty was in the middle of the nasal bridge, a prominent position on face, covering more than half of the nasal bridge. This scar was formed after free skin graft following a congenital pigmentary lesion removal on the nose.  Although no obvious hyperplasia and contracture, the scar was still difficult to conceal by means of make up because of the discoloration and thickness change of the scared skin. At this location skin tissue expander and local flap transfer are not suitable. And it was not a good choice to do free skin graft again in improving appearance, on top of that this girl had lost confidence on free skin graft.

Multiple Excision Nasal Dorsum Scar Removal
Three years after the first nasal dorsum scar excision surgery.

Multiple Excision Nasal Dorsum Scar Removal2
One year after the second excision surgery

 Multiple Excision Nasal Dorsum Scar Removal3
One year after the third excision surgery

Multiple Excision Nasal Dorsum Scar Removal4
 One year after the fourth excision surgery

When we finish reading these comparison pictures we may wonder how a simple plastic surgery technique could really mend the defect on the face thus improve the appearance of a person, yet the patient's compliance counts in the repeated surgeries year after year. Every time when Dr. ma review those pictures and enjoy the changes after each resection surgery he always admires the achievement of such a simple plastic surgery and also the endure this girl has made in pursuing the goal of eliminating the scar.  May she is blessed to be more and more beautiful every year.

The multiple excision technique is a commonly used basic surgical technique in plastic surgery. Its advantage includes easy to learn, minimal traumatic. The disadvantage is that it is not suitable to treat large scars that cover big area, and also not good  for round or nearly round scars in shape. If the scar is too spread it may take too many times to get it removed. Or if the scan is round in shape cat ear deformity may happen at the ends of the incision line after multiple excision and stitching, same thing as when we try to suture the cloth after cut a round hole on it. However these shortcomings are relative, which can be avoided by some special treatments and careful surgical planning. So this technique can also be cautiously applied to scars covering big area and round in shape by more and more surgeons nowadays.

In this case, the suture was easier at the first excision, because the skin had not yet been taut. In the second surgery closure of the surgical wound was also relatively easy, as the interval to the first surgery was three years long. The intervals to the previous surgery of the last  two operations were only around one year, so the wound closure was not as easy at the last two surgeries. Dr. Ma had to close it by means of mobilizing the surrounding tissue such as expanding the scope of dissection, using multiple layer dissection technique and tension release suturing technique in different directions. Even so due to tightness of the forced closure, the nasal dorsum and the tip of the nose seemed to be depressed and squeezed in the photos.

The mechanism of multiple excision scar removal is simple . It pulls the surrounding tissue toward the suture line by applying forced stitches when closing the wound. The surrounding normal skin and subcutaneous tissue then can be stretched loose over time ready for another session of excision. This skin expanding technique has a similar mechanism to the skin and soft tissue expander technique . May the beauty can actively observe the post surgery care protocol to expand the normal skin more efficiently, so her residual scar can be removed sooner.

Story Beyond the Photo

This girl is pretty and hard worker. She had a pigmentation problem at the dorsum of her nose during her childhood. She went for a excision surgery for the removal of the pigment skin and free skin graft was utilized to cover the wound in a local hospital. After that permanent scar was left on the receipt site of the graft. The first time she saw Dr. Ma was when she came for treating a secreting refractory fistula inside the area of the dorsum scar. Dr. Ma did the removal surgery for that fistula without any mark, so her mom encouraged her to do the scar removal surgery also by Dr. Ma. She started the first surgery in the year of 2006 and the following surgeries are at 2009, 2010 and 2011 respectively. Since the first surgery every time when Dr. Ma was about to forget her she showed up for a another surgery, so Dr. Ma got used to meet her periodically. When she didn't show up for more than three year since the last surgery in 2011, Dr. Ma called her and at that time she told Dr. me her story and agreed to post her photos on the web.

[Next]Mandible Bone and Mandible Angl.. [Previous]Parted Lips and Sticking Out Te..
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 美丽旅途 -> 首页之星
鼻背疤痕分次切除术
2014年2月首页之星
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2014-03-03 21:02:09 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:鼻背疤痕 分次切除 皮肤扩张 整形技术

我们都知道面部的疤痕对人的容貌影响很大,但目前整形外科仍然没有任何一种方法彻底消除之,就是让面部的疤痕变小,变的不明显对整形外科医生也很有挑战。面部皮肤的特点是不同区域不同部位的色泽和厚度都不一致,与身体其它部位的皮肤相比其性状差别则更大,不管用植皮、皮瓣或扩张器等常用手段处理面部因疤痕切除后造成的皮肤缺损都难以得到很完美效果,或因为肤色不一致,或因为一些辅助切口的在面部留下明显的痕迹。本例采用改进的整形外科最简单的技术--疤痕分次切除术,取得很好效果。

这位美女(面部的不完美都挡不住她的美丽,正所谓“瑕不掩瑜”)的疤痕位于鼻子的中央,面部很显眼的位置,面积大于整个鼻子皮肤面积的一半以上,系幼儿期切除色素性病变游离植皮后形成的疤痕。虽然没有增生和明显的挛缩,但由于疤痕皮肤的色泽改变和厚度不同,很难用化装等方法掩饰缺陷。因为位置的原因,也不可能使用扩张器和局部皮瓣转移的方法进行治疗,如果将疤痕切除再进行一次游离植皮手术,对外观的改善不大,这位美女也已经对植皮的效果失去了信心。

鼻背疤痕分次切除术
第一次切除三年后

鼻背疤痕分次切除2
第二次切除一年后

 鼻背疤痕分次切除3
第三次手术后一年

鼻背疤痕分次切除术4
 第四次手术后一年

欣赏完这位美女一系列照片的变化,我们应该有些感慨,感慨整形外科技术确实可以改善外貌,感慨一种简单的技术可以大大改善面部的缺陷,感慨这么多年来受术者是怎样坚持不懈。当马博士看照片的时候,看到照片上一次次的变化,马博士就有上述感慨,于是愿意把照片放到网站上供有这种情况的其它患者参考,并祝贺这位美女年年添美丽,祝愿她能彻底摆脱疤痕带来的困扰。

疤痕分次切除术是整形外科很常用的一项最基本技术。优点是简单易学,创伤小。缺点是不能切除面积很大的疤痕,也不太适合圆形或接近圆形的疤痕。因为大的疤痕可能分很多次也不会被完全切除,圆形疤痕切除后缝合后会在切口的两端留下皮肤隆起(猫耳朵),就象在一整块布上挖洞再缝起来的感觉。但这些缺点是相对的,可以通过一些手术技巧和手术设计避免,从而使这一技术更好应用于面积大,圆形的疤痕。

本例,第一次切除时缝合比较容易,是因为皮肤还没有被拉紧,第二次手术时疤痕切除后缝合也相对比较容易,因为与第一次手术间隔了三年,时间比较长。但后两次手术只隔了一年,疤痕切除后缝合就有一定的困难,马博士只好扩大了分离范围,并利用分层分离及不同方向减张缝合,充分调动周围的皮肤及软组织。即使这样,最后几次缝合后由于张力的作用其鼻背及鼻头的形状均产生了一些变化,从照片上就可以看的出来。

分次切除的原理很简单,就是每次缝合后在疤痕周围的皮肤及皮下组织上施加牵拉的力量,使疤痕周围的皮肤扩张变松,以便下一次手术时再切除一部分疤痕。这种让皮肤扩张的方式与皮肤扩张器的原理相似。愿这位美女积极配合辅助措施让自己的皮肤尽快松弛,最后彻底去除残留疤痕。

照片背后的故事

这位美女美丽可爱,上进心很强。幼年时期鼻背有色素性病变,到附近医院就医,切除病变后植皮,留下了永久性疤痕。第一次见到马博士是因为鼻背的疤痕中有一处窦道,反复破溃并有分泌物流出,马博士将病变切除后直接缝合。愈合后切除的地方几乎看不出手术的痕迹,于是她妈妈就说要找马博士治疗整个鼻背的疤痕。可再找马博士的时候发现马博士已经出国,找其它医生试着治疗发现效果不明显,辗转几年等马博士回国,通过马博士同学郑永生博士,找到马博士的导师陈宗基,通过陈教授指点终于在2006年找到了马博士,并在同年做了第一次手术。之后的三次手术分别在2009年,2010年,2011年完成。每次马博士的记忆中快要忘记她的时候,她就会出现在马博士的面前要再做一次手术,到后来马博士形成习惯,她没有定期出现,马博士反到觉得不对,于是就找到了她的照片,并给她打了电话,她对马博士讲述了自己的故事,并说感觉皮肤还不够松想再等一般时间再来手术。马博士被她的故事、她的毅力及她在学业上的追求所感动,于是就有了本网页。

[上一篇]开唇露齿整形
更多
[下一篇]男士下颌角及下颌骨整形
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章