Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Underbite Correction Plastic Surgery

Homepage Star of November 2013
[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2013-12-05 18:56:20 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: underbite correction, jaw, mandible overgrowth, chin reduction

Normally or for most people the upper set of teeth is located in front of and partially cover the lower set. This kind of occlusion is call the normal overbite occlusion. When the jaw is overgrowth or the upper jaw is undergrowth or even both anomalies coexist the lower set of teeth protrudes to the front of the upper set forming the abnormality of underbite. In this case the jaw is big, the lower lip is more protruding than the upper one, the middle part of the face is inverted, the relationship of the incisors on the upper and lower jaw is abnormal and even speech dysfunction is observed in some severe cases. The etioloty of underbite is not clear. It may be related to genetic and bad habits. The best way to prevent this abnormality is early growth intervention in adolescents either by restricting the growth of the mandible bone or stimulating the growth of the maxillary bone to balance the growth rate of the upper and lower jaws. However this treatment is not practical because of the difficulty of early detection of this abnormality in early childhood. If the problem is detected late in adulthood the only choice left is surgery.

Traditionally the indication of surgery for underbite patient is strict as the early operation method of correction was traumatic and the surgical instruments was relatively inaccurate. Candidates of minor underbite without functional disabilities often was advised to give up the idea of making themselves look better by surgeries. Now as the improvement of surgical technique and surgical instruments grants the surgery less traumatic. People have less tolerance toward any facial problem.  More and more candidates want their underbite surgery to be done just for improving their visage. The beautiful girl in this page had a minor underbite deformity. However her appearance was improved greatly by the correction surgery. She believes that the surgery is well paid off.

underbite plastic surgery
After underbite correction the chin is smaller and set back, the whole face is shorter too.

before and after underbite correction surgery
In the front view a shorter smaller chin and a fuller upper lip is observed in the after surgery photo.

 underbite profile
In profile view the whole mandible bone is smaller and the relationship between the lips are back to normal after underbite correction surgery.

underbite chip up
In chin up position the lip chin fossa is deeper indicating that the size of the chin bone is smaller.

This beautiful girl's facial contour changes are best depicted in the angled front view photos. In general impression her face changed from masculine to feminine, from rough to fine and from wild to gentle. The surgery moved her mandible bone backward and upward making the lower mandible line shorter, the chin receded and lower, the lower lip sited to the back of the upper lip and the upper lower lips' relationship back to normal. The upward chin bone movement made the length of the whole face shorter and the length to width ratio of the face more natural.

In the front view again the face is shorter and the length to width ratio is more proportional. The shortening of the chin make the facial height of the lower third equal to the upper and middle thirds. The upper lip is fuller in this angle of view too.

The middle part indentation of the before surgery photo twisted the frontal facial outline to the shape of a crescent moon. This mid face indentation is actually caused by the protrusion of the chin bone. In underbite correction surgery Sagittal Split Osteotomy of the mandible bone is utilized to set the mandible bone backward and upward. This procedure can move the mandible bone almost in any direction and in any scale. So no matter how severe the underbite is the deformity can always be corrected. Though this girl's underbite is minor Sagittal Split Osteotomy is still needed to fix her problem, only the scale of movement is less than an severe one. In her after surgery photo the receding effect of the chin improves the indentation of the middle face.

In chin up position the mandible line can be clearly show. If we compare these two photos we will conclude that the mandible line is shore in the after surgery photo. The other easy to neglect change is the lip chin fossa, which is the indentation between the lower lip and the chin. The shortening of the mandible bone reduce the tension applied in the surrounding soft tissue of the chin. The relaxation of the skin and soft tissue made the fossa deeper.

When the candidates of minor underbite seeking surgical help they may encounter some surgeons who suggest camouflage cosmetic surgeries. However surgeries that could camouflage underbite deformity are very rare. Theoretically a overgrowth mandible bone needs a bigger maxillary bone to camouflage. But behind the upper lip there is only a tiny space possible for implant insertion. It is not practical to augment the upper jaw remarkably enough to match the lower jaw only by implant. On the other hand the Lefort I osteotomy upper jaw forward sliding surgery is as complicated as the Sagittal Split Osteotomy Surgery of the mandible. Instead of being a camouflage surgery the Lefort I surgery is a major surgery. And also only when the maxillary bone is undergrowth a upper jaw forward sliding surgery is needed. Further more the underbite candidates also have occlusion abnormalities that can not be camouflaged by any surgery.

The post surgery photos of the beautiful girl in this page was token two years after her surgery. At that time her facial contour was already stable.

[Next]Transforming the Square Face to.. [Previous]Twisted Hump Nose Plastic Surge..
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 美丽旅途 -> 首页之星
地包天整形
2013年11月首页之星
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2013-11-28 22:48:09 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:地包天 反颌 下颌骨 牙齿 咬合 覆合

正常情况下,或者对大多数人来说,上排牙齿比长在下颌骨上的下排牙齿更向前突出,并且上牙覆盖在下排牙的前面,这种咬全关系在医学上叫做“覆合”。当下颌骨发育过度,或是上颌骨发育不足,或两者同时存在时,下排牙齿比上排牙齿更向前突出,突出到了上排牙齿的前方。外观看上去下巴大,下唇在上唇的前方,面中部凹陷,呲牙时可以看到上下牙齿之间不自然的相对关系,严重者可以影响到正常的发音功能。形成这种外观的原因还不是很清楚,可能与遗传或后天习惯有关。其治疗,在生长发育期可以采用限制发育的方法,限制下颌骨过度发育,但往往因不能及时发现而错过发育期及早治疗,待成年后发现问题时,只能选择手术治疗。

地包天手术适应症的选择传统的标准比较严格,因为过去做这一手术的手术方法创伤比较大,手术设备精确度不高,那些没有功能障碍,只有轻微地包天外观改变,手术也只是单纯以美容为目的求美者,多被劝放弃手术治疗。由于技术改进和设备不断精良,加之人们对容貌美的重视,如今,越来越多的地包天整形就只单纯为了改善容貌,轻微的地包天就要求并且很愿意接受手术。本网页上的这位美女地包天就不是很严重,但手术后她容貌的改善还是非常明显。她自己也认可这一手术值得一做。

地包天整形
地包天整形后,不仅下巴变小、后缩,整个脸的长度也变小了。

地包天整形前后
正位所能观察到的变化主要有脸的长度变小,下巴变小,上唇显得更加丰满。

 地包天侧位
侧位可以看到术后下颌骨整体缩小了,上下唇的前后关系趋于正常。

地包天仰头位
下巴变小在仰头位时最重要的表现就是颏唇窝变深。

这位美女手术前后的变化在斜位照片上显示的最清楚。这一角度的照片上,她的脸形总体变化是由男性化向女性化,由粗犷到细致,由奔放到温柔。由于手术将下颌骨向后推移并上提,下颌下缘的长度变小,下巴颏向后缩,下巴颏的高度变小,下唇也回到了上唇的后方、使上下唇的位置关系恢复到了正常。下颌缩小后的上提作用使整个脸的长度变短,长宽比例更趋于自然。

正面照片上也可以看出术后脸的长度变小,长宽比例更加协调。下巴颏的高度变小使下巴与面中、上部的比例恢复正常。也就是我们常说的“三庭五眼”中的“三庭”更加匀称。下颌骨的后缩也使上唇显得相对丰满。

侧位照片中术前的面中部凹陷,面部的轮廓线呈月牙状,这主要是由于下颌骨过度向前突出所致。地包天整形时采用的下颌骨矢状劈开截骨、下颌后移术,可以根据需要将下颌骨向后、向上移动,不管下颌骨的过度发育程度有多严重都可得到矫正。这位美女的下颌过度发育并不是很严重,但也需要矢状劈开术进行矫治,只不过后推的距离较小而以。术后的照片上可以看出,下颌骨缩小后,面中部凹陷明显好转。

仰头位照片可以清楚地显示下颌骨下缘的外形,手术前后比较就可发现术后的下颌下缘长度变小。另外一个很不容易注意到的变化就是下唇与下巴颏之间的颏唇窝的变化。由于下颌骨不再向前顶出及下巴的高度变小,使下唇及下巴处的软组织紧张度降低,皮肤放松,颏唇窝也就变深了。

地包天不明显的患者求医时,可能会遇到有些医生向他们推荐掩饰性美容手术。但是能够真正对地包天进行掩饰的美容手术并不多,按理下颌过度发育可以用增大上颌的方法进行掩饰。但由于上唇下方能够植入假体的空间有限,很难做到使用假体植入来实现使上颌骨前突的效果,而上颌骨前移本身手术就比下颌骨矢状劈开更加复杂,且上颌骨如果没有发育不足的话也不宜进行上颌骨前移。另外,地包天时不光有外观上的异常,还同时存在咬合关系的异常。咬合关系的异常是无法用任何手术进行掩饰的。

本网页中美女的术后照片为手术后两年拍摄,此时术后的外形已经基本稳定。

[上一篇]驼峰鼻及歪鼻综合整形
更多
[下一篇]下颌角整形咬肌切除变鸭蛋脸
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章