Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Square Face to Oval Face Surgery

Homepage Star of June 2014
[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2014-08-11 22:25:07 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: square face, oval face, mandible redution, masseter reduction

For those square faced candidates whose zygomatic bone and zygomatic arch are not oversized a simple mandible bone reduction and partial masseter muscle removal could change the facial type to the ideal "oval face". And also if the chin bone is not too wide or if "melon seed face" is not the desired target facial type there is no need to trim the chin bone slimmer. In this scenario the removal amount of the mandible bone and the masseter muscle should be carefully controlled to avoid any indentation or "cut corner" deformity caused by the excessive reduction and to ensure a natural connection between the chin and the mandible. As a result of surgical technique improvement and accumulation of surgical experience more and more plastic surgeons can handle osteotomized mandible reduction. With this method it is easy to cut the bone and the muscle too much than needed if not carefully controlled. The adverse result caused by excessive reduction is actually more difficult to mend than not enough reduction. Problem caused by excessive reduction is often encountered in Dr. Ma's before surgery consultation sessions.

When we have the technique that could reduce the size of the face in a great scale the challenge of how much of tissue removal is appropriate for a particular candidate arise. A fully understanding of the candidate's goal and detailed analysis of individual's facial type, shape and size of the mandible bone and masseter muscle are the keys of increasing the satisfaction rate. For this case only mandible reduction and masseter muscle partial removal surgeries were done. These surgeries were not complicated. However the surgical result was well controlled. Her facial type do changed as desired without any problems caused by excessive tissue removal and also the face is more symmetric after surgery.

square face to oval face surgery
After mandible bone and masseter muscle partial resectomy the square face changed to a smoother oval one and the the face is more symmetric.

square face to oval face angled view
In angled view the change seems not dramatic however the mandible line is noticeably more gentle and nicer.

 square face to oval face
A natural mandible angle still exist in the after surgery photo.

The goal of controlled tissue removal is to let the post surgery facial contour natural and smooth. Take the example of this lady her chin bone was not very wide and she didn't want to change her face to a narrow "melon seed" type. Her mandible reduction had been done according to the width of the chin bone. The extra bone tissue at the mandible body and mandible corner was trimmed off. So that the mandible line looks as the extension of the chin line both in the frontal and lateral view, avoided any irregularity and unnatural sign at the lower face.

In order to achieve the goal a detailed surgical plan and accurate surgical operation are preferred. Before surgical planning local physical examination and CT maxillary bone scan are performed to understand the shape, size and symmetry of the mandible bone and masseter muscle. Based on these information the volume of reduction of each side is estimated. The surgery should then been performed carefully and the volume of tissue removal need to be checked from time to time. All these efforts help in achieving a natural and smooth change from square face to the ideal oval face.

Before surgery CT scan shown that the angle of mandible of this girl was already more than 120 degree a simple corner excision would increase the degree of the angle, exceeding the normal range of the angle degree and causing a "horse face" look at profile, apparently not a good selection. Instead her mandible angle was carved smaller to match the reduced size of the mandible body. After surgery this girl's face is narrowed down remarkably. However her mandible angle is still naturally visible.

The after surgery photos in this page was taken 3 months post surgery.

[Next]Cheekbone Reduction with Simult.. [Previous]Forward Sliding Surgery for Ret..
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 美丽旅途 -> 首页之星
方脸变鸭蛋脸整形
2014年6月首页之星
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2014-06-27 21:10:08 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:方脸 鸭蛋脸 下颌骨整形 咬肌部分切除

对于不伴有颧骨颧弓宽大者来说,单纯的下颌骨缩小及咬肌部分切除术,就可将方脸变成鸭蛋脸。如果下巴颏不是很宽,而且也不想变瓜子脸的话,就没有必要把下巴变窄。在不动下巴的情况下,下颌骨及咬肌缩小时就应该控制骨骼及肌肉的切除量,使缩小后的下颌角与下巴颏的轮廓线能够很好地衔接,而不是将骨骼及肌肉切除过多造成凹陷或成角畸形。由于技术的进步和经验的积累,现在很多医生都已经能够用截骨的方法进行下颌骨缩小,截骨时如果控制不好很容易切除过多,因此造成的不良外观反到更难修复,马博士在工作中经常会遇到切除过多的病例。

消除了因切除骨骼不够脸型变化不大的顾虑后,怎样控制骨骼及肌肉的切除量又成了颌面美容外科医生的新挑战。充分理解受术者的要求,针对每一位受术者认真分析术前的面形及下颌骨咬肌特点,是提高手术满意率的关键。本例做的手术也只是下颌骨缩小加咬肌部分切除,手术不复杂,但受术者及术者都认为这一手术的分寸掌握的很好,即让脸型有了明显的改善,也没有因切除过分而出现不自然的外观,同时还很好地解决了两侧的不对称的问题。

方脸变鸭蛋脸
下颌骨及咬肌切除后,方脸变成了线条流畅的鸭蛋脸,两侧对称性也得到改善。

方脸变鸭蛋脸斜位
斜位观察似没有多大变化,但还是很够看出术后者的下颌轮廓线更加柔和。

 方脸变鸭蛋脸整形
侧面术后仍可见到自然的下颌角。

骨骼与肌肉组织切除量控制的目标就是要使整形后的面部轮廓线自然、流畅。以本例为例,术前这位美女的下巴颏并不是很宽大,她也不想把自己的脸变成很尖的瓜子脸。手术设计时就应该以其下巴颏的宽度作为参考,把下颌体及下颌角多出来的部分切除,不对称的部分尽量做的对称,以期达到不管是从正面看还是从侧面看,下颌的轮廓线都是下巴轮廓线的延续的效果,避免形成明显的成角凹陷和其它不自然外观。

为实现上述目标,最好有详细的术前设计和精准的手术操作。术前设计方面,首先要进行局部查体和CT检查,掌握下颌骨及咬肌的形态、大小和对称情况。在此基础上确定每侧下颌骨及咬肌的切除量。术中也则应该根据手术设计精细操作,并随时比较每侧切下的组织量。这样才能很好地做到自然流畅地把方脸变成鸭蛋脸。

这位美女术前的下颌角角度已经大于120度,不能再做下颌角的直线切除,否则下颌角的角度就有可能接近180度直线,从侧面看形成很不自然的“马脸”外观。马博士在为其缩小下颌骨时,对于下颌角的位置也进行了雕刻处理,以使其与下颌骨的其它部位更好地衔接。使术后的面部侧面仍能看到自然的下颌角,但从正面看的时候下面部还是有明显的变窄。

这位美女的术后照片为术后3个月时拍摄。

[上一篇]下巴骨前移治疗下巴颏后缩
更多
[下一篇]颧骨颧弓缩小同时进行面部提升
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章