Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Crossbite and Underbite Correction Plastic Surgery

Homepage star of Sep 2010
[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2011-10-19 16:59:42 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: overbite underbite sagittal split ramous osteotomy

Pre and post operative pictures of crossbite correction plastic surgery
Crossbite correction plastic surgery pre and post operation pictures. From the front view the only change one can notice is the chin getting rounder and less bony.

comparison pictures of crossbite correction plastic surgery
Comparison pictures of crossbite correction plastic surgery. Before operation the mandible is longer and the lower line of the mandible is straighter with no noticeable mandible angle. The lower lip located in front of the upper lip giving a underbite appearance. After operation these defects have been corrected and the profile outline is more graceful.

Comparison pictures of overbite correction plastic surgery
Comparison pictures of overbite correction plastic surgery. Before operation the mandible bone is too long to match the upper jaw and the lower incisors located in front of the upper incisors at occlusion position. After the surgery the mandible bone is pushed back to make the occlusion of the upper and lower incisors in normal position.

Comparison pictures of crossbite correction plastic surgery at chin up position
Comparison pictures of crossbite correction plastic surgery at chin up position. The mandible bone is shorter and the chin is not protruding any more post operatively.

Picture analysis of crossbite correction plastic surgery at chin up position
Picture analysis of crossbite correction plastic surgery at chin up position. "BC" is longer than "bc".

Sagittle Split Ramous Osteotomy for Crossbite Correction Plastic Surgery

Crossbite deformity is caused by the overgrowth of the mandible bone resulting in an appearance of protruding lower jaw and a malocclusion of lower incisors overbite. The face is narrow and long like a "horse face" in profile. The incisor and and back teeth is in malocclusion. With good adaption and wearing the grinding function of the back teeth is well preserved. The mandible ramous is longer than normal as a result of overgrowth. When the mouth is open in a same width the mandible process moves in a longer distance in the temporal mandible joint sockets than normal ramous length people. So many crossbite patients suffer from temporal mandible joint malfunction.

Sagittal Split Ramous Osteotomy(SSRO) splits the mandible bone between the mandible body and the mandible ramous sagittaly enabling the mandible body to move backward freely. The mandible body is pushed backward in a distance according to the preoperative design to make the mandible shorter and the mandible angle sharper. Then the mandible body and the mandible ramous are fixed together in the new relationship. The mandible reduction crossbite correction result is achieved by partial overlap of the mandible bone and narrowing the mandible angle.

Sagittal Split Ramous Osteotomy changes the relative position of the upper and lower jaw thus the upper and lower teeth. Though the occlusion returns to normal the contact surfaces of the teeth are mismatched caused by this change. The chewing function is impaired temporally. For the chewing function to return it is necessary to let the contact surface of the upper and lower teeth to adapt each other in one or two years. Occasionally some patients needs orthodontic to restore the normal chewing function. For this reason the patients may feel uncomfortable eating, such as prolonged eating time, chewing deficiency etc. during the early stage post operation.

Star Story 

This beautiful lady has very good look eyes, nose and mouth. The only problem is her over growth jaw. This gives her teeth a crossbite occlusion, also knowing as overbite teeth. When she went to see Dr. Fushun Ma she was told that a Sagittal Split Ramous Osteotomy(SSRO) will improve her appearance. She didn't have many question about this operation before she agreed to go into the operation room. Her post operation recovery was very smooth.

She didn't contact Dr. Fushun Ma until four months post operation when she was sent to another city and dropped by in Beijing and saw Dr. Fushun Ma. She told Dr. Ma that she felt there seemed a hump is raised at the far end of her right intro mouth surgical incision. After a careful examination of the surgical incision Dr. Ma didn't find any abnormal at the incision line and there was no foreign body left in the incision. So Dr. Ma asked her to observe for a period of time and not further information from her since then. It is safe to say she is fine.

Dr. Ma's Commnet

Walking on the street we often see beautiful girls and handsome boys with overbite occlusion. As a matter of fact certain degree of overbite make good facial pictures. So for people whose overbite doesn't interfere facial appearance a correction surgery is not needed. Surgery is warranted only for those whose overbite is so severe that disturbs the facial appearance or the temporal mandible joint.

Is every people with a protruding chin overbite? The answer is no. For those whose mandible simply over grow without any kind of malocclusion a sample mandible excess disorder is diagnosed. In case of surgery a simple chin reduction is needed to trim the praqotruding mandibular bone. If a person has over growth mandible and his or her lower incisors located in front of the upper incisors malocclusion of overbite formed. In this situation a simple mandible reduction doesn't work. A SSRO operation can restore the normal occlusion and facial appearance at the same time. In people with overbite malocclusion there may have some temporal mandible joint dysfunction beside appearance abnormalities. Surgeons should give consideration to any exist functioning disturbance and improve it with surgery as much as possible.

[Next]Two months after zygoma plastic.. [Previous]Reduction Plastic Surgery of As..
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 美丽旅途 -> 首页之星
反颌整形地包天整形对比照片
2010年9月首页之星
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2011-10-21 11:19:18 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:反颌整形, 反颌畸形, 地包天, 兜齿整形

反颌整形术前及术后
反颌整形术前及术后。正面观察时只有下颏比手术前显得圆润,骨感变弱。
 

反颌整形对比照片
反颌整形对比照片。术前下颌骨的长度大并且下颌下缘的弧线直,看不到明显的下颌角。下唇比上唇更向前突出,形成地包天的外观。术后这些外观缺陷得到纠正,面部侧方剪影自然美观。


兜齿整形对比照片
兜齿整形对比照片。术前由于下颌骨过长,上颌牙齿与下颌牙齿的咬合关系异常,上颌门齿在咬合时位于下颌门齿后方。反颌整形术后,下颌骨的长度变短,上下两排牙齿的咬合关系恢复正常。

反颌整形仰头位对比照片
反颌整形仰头位对比照片。术后下颌骨的长度明显变短,下颏不再向前过度突出。

反颌整形仰头位对比照片分析
反颌整形仰头位对比照片分析。BC段较bc段长,BCD夹角明显大于bcd夹角。说明下颌骨矢劈开反颌整形术后,下颌骨的长度变短,下颌角的角度变小。

下颌骨矢状劈开反颌整形术

反颌畸形是指在生长发育的过程中,下颌骨发育过度,下颌骨明显比上颌骨向前突出,伴有下颌门齿位于上颌门齿前方的异常咬合关系,下唇较上唇突出等外观上的改变。从侧面观察时,面形斜长,有一种“马脸”样外观。除门齿咬合关系异常外,磨牙的咬合关系也不正常,但错合的磨牙经过长时间的磨合及适应,研磨食物的功能多能正常进行。由于下颌骨升枝也发育过度,长度较一般人者大,同样的开口度,其颞下颌关系的活动度较一般人者大。 很多反颌畸形患者有颞颌关节功能紊乱的临床表现。

下颌骨矢状避开反颌整形术,是指在下颌体与下颌升枝之间将下颌骨矢状劈开,这样下颌体就可以自由向后推动。按术前设计的量向后移动下颌体,使下颌体的长度缩短,同时下颌角的角度变小,之后在新的位置上将下颌体与下颌升枝进行固定。这一手术实际上通过将过度发育的下颌体进行了部分重叠,并同时使下颌角的角度变小而起到了缩短下颌体,纠正反颌的作用。

下颌矢状劈开整形后,由于下颌体相对于上颌骨发生了移动,上下颌的牙齿对合关系也发生了改变,虽然上颌牙齿与下颌牙齿的咬合关系正常了,但原来已经磨合好的上下牙齿对合面不再对合,所以不能很好地进行食物研磨,需要进行一年到二年的重新磨合,有的患者可能需要进行牙齿正畸才能完全恢复磨牙的研磨功能。因此,术后早期进行时会有不同程度的不方便,比如,食物嚼不细,进行时间延长,不能进食质地较硬的食物等等。

明星故事

这位漂亮的女士有着美丽的五官,美中不足的是她的下颌骨发育过度,出现了我们常说的地包天脸形,医学上称之为反颌畸形。这位女士找到了马博士,马博士告诉她有反颌畸形,下颌骨矢状劈开反颌整形术能够改善她的外貌。记得她没有问多少问题,就同意做手术了,术后恢复也很顺利。

这位女士一直没有联系马福顺博士,术后四个月的时候她出差路过北京,找到了马博士说口腔内切口位置好像多了一块肉,想让马博士看看。经过检查发现她的切口长得很好,只是切口的最后端有一处增生样改变。探查没有发现线头及其它异物存在,逐让其观察一段时间看会不会消失,之后就再没有她的消息,估计她的增生已经好了。

马博士评语

走在大街上,我们经常会看到下唇比上唇更向前突出的美女或帅哥。其实在某种程度上下颌稍向前突出一点会更上镜,所以不影响外观的下颌前突不一定需要整形,只有影响外观或是比较严重的下颌前突或是反颌才需要进行手术治疗。

是不是所有下颌向前突出者都在反颌?不一定。反颌,也就是常说的兜齿与单纯的下颌前突有什么区别?单纯下颌发育过突,下颏向前突出,不伴有下颌门齿位于上颌门齿之前的情况属于单纯的下颌前突。如果需要手术,牙齿的咬全关系不必要进行调整,只是把过长的下颌骨缩小就可以了。伴有下颌门齿位于上颌门齿前方的情况下属于反颌,或兜齿、地包天等。这时手术治疗不仅要缩小下颌骨,同时也要对上下牙齿的咬合关系进行调整。反颌畸形比单纯的下颌前突临床表现更加复杂,除外观改变外,可能有一些功能方面的改变,所以手术时应该在改善外形的同时改善功能。

[上一篇]颧骨整形颧弓内推后两个月
更多
[下一篇]下颌不对称整形及自体骨隆下颏
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章