Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Chin Forward Sliding Before and After Surgery Photos

Homepage Star of October 2012
[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2012-11-09 23:30:40 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: Chin forward sliding, chin augmentation, chin implant, small chin

Chin forward sliding, known as Chin Forward Sliding Surgery, or Sub Apical Horizontal Mandible Osteotomy Chin Advancement Surgery, or simply Chin Advancement Surgery, is a cosmetic surgery to move the chin forward and downward by horizontally cutting the chin bone and move the free piece of bone forward and downwardly. This surgery can achieve the effect of implant chin augmentation without inserting any foreign material into the body. More over at the time of making the chin sliding forward it also can make the chin move downwardly. This kind of chin height enhancement effect can't be achieved by any kind of implant chin augmentation.

Chin Forward Sliding needs an osteotomy at the chin bone and the front part of the mandible bone. Many candidates believe that bone surgery is a major surgery and thus fare to do theses surgeries concerning the safety of it. So they may wander between implant chin augmentation and chin sliding surgery. Though both kinds of surgeries could correct the small chin or chin retrognathia the sliding surgery has much more vantage than chin implant in term of satisfactory and long term surgical complications rate. Both surgeries could enhance the chin at the forward direction. However only the sliding surgery can move the chin lower down and make it narrower at the same time. Further more as the reason of foreign body exist, implant chin augmentation has more safety and reliability concerns than sliding surgery. So nowadays the capable institutes or surgeons tend to advise their candidates to do the osteotomy instead of implant. The cosmetic surgery seekers should also understand the advantages and disadvantages of these two kinds of surgery and make a right decision.

chin forward sliding surgery
In front view the major change after chin forward sliding surgery is the chin getting lower. This change make the face more proportional.

chin advancement surgery
In profile the chin is advanced forward and downwardly after surgery.

 chin sliding surgery
In angled lateral view the elongation effect of the mandible lower line is depicted.

horizontal mandible osteotoy chin advancement
Chin up, the change of the angle relationship between the chin and the neck is shown clearly.

Photo Analysis

Front view, this handsome young man has already had a longitudinal face. However his face looked wired somehow. If we take a deep look at his face we will notice that the height of his face below the lower lip is relatively shorter than it should be and this shortage make the face disproportional. Chin forward sliding could move the chin downward at the time of forward sliding when necessary. The downward movement make the chin lower and this change could be depicted at the front view most vividly. The face is still a longitudinal one after surgery. But as the proportion ratio between the lower and upper face is back to normal the face looks even more handsome.

In profile, the big problem was the relationship between the chin and the neck. As the chin was retrograded the angle between the chin and neck, also known as chin neck angle, was almost disappeared. The nasal tip, the lips, the chin and the neck was alined almost in a straight line. Also pre-surgically the angle between the lower lip and the chin was not deep enough. The surgery moved the chin forward so the degree of lip chin and chin neck angles are sharper and more naturally looking.

In lateral angled photo, this young man's original face gives an impression of protruding nose and lips. It seems that the nose and the lips are located outside of the facial parameter. Actually this is a misimpression caused by the retrogression of the chin. The nose and the lips are not protruding but the chin retrogression set up the nasal and lip protruding expression. The surgery seemed to pushed the nose and the lips back into the territory of the face. In this angle of view it is also noticeable that the length of the chin line is elongated.

In chin up profile photo, the biggest change concentrated on the lip chin angle and the chin neck angle. Compared to the before surgery photo the chin is bigger and more defined and the lip chin and chin neck angles are sharper post surgically. We can also check the relationship between the upper and lower lip due to the retrogression of the chin the lower lip is shorter and this makes the closure of the lips difficult. The chin forward sliding move the soft tissue forward when sling the bone forward. So the lips can close more easily.

Knowledge Regarding Chin Forward Sliding Surgery

Why the Chin Forward Sliding Surgery could make the chine lower, pointer and more protrusion.

During the Chin Forward Sliding surgery the front part of the mandible bone is cut free from the mandible body at the level below the apex of the lower set of teeth. The severed the free bone then is sliding forward to make the chin augmented. The distance of forward sliding varies depend on the patients will and the image study result of the mandible bone. At the time of surgery a specific fixation plate with certain arm length is applied to fix the severed free bone. Then a pre set goal of chin augmentation result could be achieved.

The amount of the downward movement of the chin also need to be calculated carefully before surgery in order to match the chin height with the other parts of the face. At the time of surgery the severed free bone could be moved and fixed accordingly to achieve the goal of making the chin lower. The distance of the forward movement of the chin can be as long as 20MM or more. However the scale of downward movement is limited to make sure the repositioned bone's survive and reuniting to the mandible body. In order to increase the downward movement scale bone graft can be inserted to fill the gap between the two pieces of bone.

For implant chin augmentation the thickness of the prosthesis is normally within 1.5CM. Otherwise the post surgical chin may look  unnatural or the prosthesis may expose due to the lack of soft tissue and mucosa coverage. While in Chin Sliding surgery the distance of chin forward movement could reach 20MM or even  more and the post surgery chin can still looks natural as stated above. The chin of this young man in this page is moved forward by 10MM. After surgery his chin looks good. If a 10MM thick chin implant is inserted the post surgery chin can hardly looks as natural and the shape of the prosthesis could eventually show on the skin in years.

There are several ways of making the chin narrower during the Chin Forward Sliding surgery. The easiest way of doing it is to trim the mandible bone at both side of the chin. Also a small piece of bone can be removed from the middle of the severed free bone to change its shape from a  "U" to a "V", thus the chin is narrowed. In recent years Dr. Fushun Ma use pillar fixation for chin forward sliding. With this technique the chin can be narrowed more easily and the fixation is more stable.

The size of the surgical incision and the surgical undermining scale is the same between Chin Forward Sliding Surgery and Implant Chin Augmentation. As the sliding surgery cuts a piece of the mandible bone free, moves it and than fixes it back. The osteotomy causes more bleeding and more chances of getting post surgery hematoma. So some of the sliding surgery patient may suffer longer swollen period and the swelling may seemed more severe. Nevertheless the swollen will eventually subsided. The sliding surgery does not leave any foreign body at the surgery site. The chance of post surgery infection is less than the implant augmentation.

For implant augmentation there is a prosthesis left in the body. No matter what is the nature of the implant they are all foreign bodies to the human body. Foreign body could cause short term and long term infection or rejection reaction. Though a strict anti microbial protocol is followed in every surgical procedure iatrogenic infections caused by the residual microbial in the prosthesis happens from time to time, especially those prosthesis with micro holes. New generations of prosthesis is getting more and more friendly to the human body. However no nasal augmentation prosthesis is 100% rejection free so far. The definite long term complication for implant is the surrounding hard and soft tissue absorption caused by the constant pressure imposed by the implant. For a chin implant the affected tissue may include the mandible bone and the soft tissue at the chin, so the shapes of most of the chin implant show beneath the skim many years post surgery as a result of soft tissue absorption which in turn compromise the coverage of the implant.

[Next]Cheekbone Reduction Surgery Bef.. [Previous]Maxillary Protrusion Correction..
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 美丽旅途 -> 首页之星
下巴颏前移对比照片
2012年10月首页之星
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2012-10-06 07:32:18 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:下巴前移, 颏前移, 颏前徒, 下颌骨, 下颌水平截骨

下巴颏前移,简称颏前移整形,全称是下颌根尖下水平截骨颏前移整形术,有时也称作“颏前徙整形术”。 是指将下巴颏的部分骨骼沿水平方向截开向前、向下移动,使下巴颏变翘变长的整形美容手术。这一手术在不使用任何假体的情况下实现隆下巴颏的效果,而且还可以实现使下巴颏的上下高度,或者说是上下长度变大的效果,这一效果是假体隆下巴所不可能实现的目标。

颏前移整形需要在下颌骨前部及颏部进行截骨。很多求美者认为这一手术太大了,风险大,所以对选择假体隆下巴还是颏前移犹豫不决。虽然这两种手术都对小下巴有纠正作用,但就手术后的效果及远期并发症而言,颏前移的优势是假体隆下巴所不可以比拟的。颏前移与假体隆下巴都可以让下巴颏向前变翘,但只有颏前移才能让下巴的上下高度变大、宽度变窄。加之,由于假体的存在,远期可能出现的并发症则让假体隆下巴明显不如颏前移那样安全可靠、无远期忧虑。因此,有条件的医疗机构,有能力完成这一手术的医生多劝求美者进行颏前移整形,而不是假体。求美者也应该明晰这两者的利与弊,以便正确选择。

颏前移整形对比照片
从正看,颏前移后主要变化是下巴的高度变大,这样使整个面部的比例关系得到矫正。

颏前徙整形
侧位照片中,可以明显看出下巴向前下延长了。

 下巴颏前移术
术后斜位,则可清楚显示下颌下缘的长度明显变大。

下颌水平截骨颏前移整形
术后仰头位,可显示下巴与颈部的角度关系。

照片分析

正面,这位帅哥的脸形基本上已经是长型脸了,但术前的照片看上去总有些不对劲。仔细分析就会发现原因就在于其口唇以下的下颌高度不够,使面部各部分的比例关系不协调。颏前移整形术不单纯使下颏向前移动,同时还将下颏向下移动,这一变化在正位照片中表现出来的就是下颌的高度变大,正位照片中最容易显示出来。术后照片脸形还是长型脸,但是由于下巴的高度变大了,面部各部分的高度比例协调,面容更加美观。

术前侧位照片的最大问题就是下巴颏与颈部的关系不正常。由于下巴的后缩,使下巴与颈部的夹角,也就是所谓的颏颈角几乎消失,鼻尖上下唇以及下巴颏似乎与颈部在一条直线上。另外,下唇与下颏之间的夹角,也就是唇颏角平直、深度不够。颏前移整形术使下巴颏明显向前移动,唇颏角与颏颈角的角度趋于正常。

斜位术前照片给人最大的感觉是鼻子与上下唇向前突出,象是鼻子及口唇都已经突出到了面部的轮廓线以外。但实际上这是一种错觉,不是鼻子及口唇过度向前突出了,而是下巴颏向后缩把鼻子及口唇显了出来。颏前移整形术后照片中鼻子与口唇似乎被拉回到了面部的轮廓以内。下颌缘的长度也与手术前相比有了明显增加。

仰头位照片手术前后对比最大的变化就是唇颏角与颏颈角的改变。比较术前照片,术后照片中下巴颏明显变大,更加有形,同时唇颏角和颏颈角更加明显。另外,还可注意到上下唇关系的变化,术前照片中下唇与上唇的贴合感觉很勉强。这主要是因为下颌的皮肤及软组织后缩所致,颏前移整形下颌骨前移的同时也带动了附着于下颌骨上的软组织及皮肤向前移,纠正了软组织的后缩,拉近了下唇与上唇的距离,从而术后照片中上下唇的贴合很自然。

颏前移整形有关知识

颏前移整形术是怎么让下颌骨变翘,下颏高度变大,同时变尖的呢。

颏前移手术我们知道是在下颌骨的前部,牙根的下方将下巴颏的骨骼及下颌骨前端的骨骼截开,截下来的游离骨片向前移动就可以让下巴颏变翘。向前移动的量可以根据受术者的要求及术前的CT检查结果来确定,术中只是用术前已经定好的,按术前设计时确定移动量预制的特殊钛板固定截下来的骨片就可以达到预期前移的目标量。

下巴颏向下移动的量也要在术前精确计算,以使下巴的上下高度与面部其它部分的高度相称。术中则根据这一计算结果在进行钛板的固定时向下移动游离骨片,实现使下巴颏向下移动的目的。下巴向前移动的量可以很大,达到20MM以上。但向下移动的量就不能过大,否则骨片之间过大的间隙有可能影响游离骨片的最终愈合。为了加大向下移动的量,可以利用碎骨片填充间隙。

假体隆下颏时,假体的厚度一般不能超过1.5CM,否则不仅术后效果不自然,置入的假体因缺乏足够的软组织及粘膜包括还很容易出现术后外露的并发症。但颏前移向前移动的量如前述可以达到20MM以上,效果仍然非常自然。本首页之星的帅哥向前移动量为10MM,术后下巴颏的形态自然。如果使用10MM厚的假体隆下巴,术后外形很难达到如此自然的效果,而且日久多能在体表上就可看出假体的形状。

颏前移手术时有多种方式可以让下巴颏的宽度变小。最简单常用的方法就是直接把下颏两侧的骨骼进行部分切除,还可以把游离骨片的正中间截除一小片骨骼,让马蹄形的游离骨片由“U”形变成“V”形,从而让下巴变窄。近来马福顺博士又设计出来留桩法颏前移整形术,更好地解决了前移时让下巴宽度变小的技术障碍。

颏前移整形与假体隆下巴比较手术切口大小及分离范围差别不大。但由于颏前移将下颌骨截开,移动后重新固定,截骨面的渗血增加了术后血肿的机会,所以颏前移手术后局部肿胀可能更明显,肿胀时间也会更长一些。但肿胀总会消退,由于没有异物在局部存留,术后局部感染机率反倒比假体隆下巴要低。

假体隆下巴时体内要置入假体。无论使用何种假体,对于人体来说都是外来异物。异物在体内有可能引起近期及远期的感染及排异反应。尽管手术时都会采取很严格的无菌操作,但假体内存留微生物引起的感染时有发生,尤其是含有微孔的假体更容易藏匿微生物。虽然新型组织代用品越来越不容易引起人体的排异反应,但目前还没有任何代用品能与人体完全相容。假体置入不可避免的远期并发症就是由于假体的压迫作用所致的置入物周围组织吸收。隆下巴时假体引起的组织吸收可以累及下颌骨及下巴颏的软组织,所以置入假体若干年后多可发现假体的形状越来越清晰可辨。

[上一篇]上颌前突整形对比照片
更多
[下一篇]颧骨降低对比照片
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章