Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Asymmetric Face Correction Surgery

Homepage Star of April 2012
[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2012-04-25 01:10:40 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: asymmetric face, crooked face, correction surgery, face surgery

Dr. Fushun Ma already mentioned in this website for several times that the human face is naturally asymmetric. If a person's face is perfectly symmetric he or she may not be considered beautiful by average viewer. However the degree of asymmetry should be limited. If one side of a person's face is profoundly different from the other in size or shape this face will not look good too. The asymmetry of the face is the key in making a person unique and characteristic. While a profound facial asymmetry let the face lose its balance and look unnatural. So significant asymmetrical face should seek the assistance of plastic surgery.

Asymmetric face also know as crooked face, twisted face, imbalanced face or deviated face etc. For most of the sufferers there is no proved etiology. It is believed to be related to hereditary factors, congenital or acquired developmental disorders, life style and some kinds of stomatological disease. Only a small amount of asymmetrical face sufferers whose cause of facial asymmetry is clear. Most of the sufferers can't find out why their face is so asymmetric. No matter if the cause is clear or not the common character for asymmetric face is that the size and shape are fundamentally different from one side to the other of the sufferer's face. The most noticeable difference normally is the width of different sides of the face. However for every asymmetrical face there always has an obvious height difference, the difference of the vertical length of the face, between each side of the face coexist. The observer often concentrated on the width difference and neglect the height difference.

asymmetric face correction surgery
One side of the face is obviously different from the other. After correction surgery the face is more symmetric.

crooked fac correction surgery
After surgical correction there is not much change in profile though the face looks more symmetrical in front view.

removed tissue from imbalance face correction surgery
During surgery for a imbalanced face correction the size of the facial bone is adjusted. On top of that some of the soft tissue is also trimmed off to make the face more symmetric.

The photos of this girl showed that her face is obvious asymmetric, the right side is much wider than the left. This asymmetry is mostly noticeable in the middle and lower third of the face. From the photo there is no facial middle line deviation. So no middle line correction surgeries is needed. For this kind of facial asymmetry facial outline correction surgeries will get a good final result. This girl's surgeries include right mandible bone and masseter muscle reduction, right side buccal fat removal. Her operation and post surgery recovery went smooth. The photo on the right side of this page depict the muscle, fat and bone pieces removed from the right side of the face.

The photos in this page was token 4 months after surgery. At that time the right side of the girl's face had already shown the narrow effect and her face looks basically symmetric already. However this is not the finial result because the right side of the face would get even smaller in the coming months.

After surgery the girl's face is symmetric from the front view by the reduction of the right side face. But if we take a look from the side the shape and size of the right mandible didn't change much. The right side mandible angle still exist and the degree of the angle remains the same. This is exactly the result we should pursue for this kind of asymmetrical face correction. As this girl's asymmetry before surgery only show in the frontal view not much on the profile and degree of her mandible angle was already greater than normal. In this instance an ostectomy at the mandible angle will make the degree of the mandible angle every bigger thus giving the profile of her face an unnatural look.

In the process of asymmetric face correction the most challenging aspect is to determine the amount of tissue removal. The right amount of tissue removal should correct the asymmetric deformity and avoid create iatrogenic asymmetric deformity by over reduction. In the pre-surgery design of this girl a method of facial outline analysis is utilized. As in the image below a facial outline sketch is derived from the full frontal view photo (the left side image). The vertical red line is the middle line of the face. The length of line A-B and line a-b is bigger than that of line A-C and line a-c, indicating that the width of the right face is bigger than the left. Then A-B to A-C and a-b to a-c ratios are calculated. According to this ratio and the actual width of the face a width difference between the two sides is figured out. For this girl the maximum width difference between the two sides of her face is 9MM. That means a 9MM reduction from the right side of this girl's face would make her face back to symmetrical status. Referring to this figure certain amount of muscle, fat and bone tissue were removed from the right side of her face. The right side image shows that the post surgery facial outline analysis is basically symmetric.

analysis of deviated face
Facial outline analysis for measuring the width difference of two sides of the face. After surgery the difference diminished.

x-ray image of asymetric face
The occlusion level of the teeth is not parallel to the line between the orbits. However the tilting level between these lines is less than 15 degree, meaning no obvious deviated maxillary bone.

The surgical plan for asymmetrical face correction should be case specific. No single surgery is suitable to any kind of facial asymmetry. First of all the cause of the asymmetry should be find out, whether the facial bone or soft tissue disorder makes the face asymmetric should be distinguished. Secondly the scale of the disorder should be investigated in order to determine the operation site. In asymmetric face caused by the facial bone developmental disorder the width of each side of the face is obviously different. On top of that, as one side of the face was overgrowth or undergrowth, one side of the face is longer than the other. This imbalance in turn causes middle facial line deviation. If this deviation is severe enough a crooked middle line correction should be the priority of consideration. Only after the middle line go back to straight position surgeries such as facial outline reduction then can be performed.

A simple way of diagnosing the facial middle line deviation is using X-ray image. It is based on testing if a plan on the lower face is parallel to the control plan in the upper face. Parallel means there is not deviation. Not parallel and the tilting angle exceeds certain amount means the middle line of the face is deviated. This girl's X-ray image is showing on the right. The red line at the bottom represents the teeth occlusion level. The red line on top represents the level of the lower edge of the obitals. It serves as a control plan for testing the facial middle line deviation. If the two lines run parallel to each other there is not facial middle line deviation. If the two lines run not parallel and the tilting angle is more than 15 degrees, there is a obvious facial mid line deviation.

The X-ray image analysis of this girl shows that her lower face testing plan is not parallel to the upper face control plan. However the tilting degree between this two lines is less than 15 degree. So she is not suggested to do the middle line correction. As a matter of fact her post surgery result is satisfactory. For asymmetric face correction the key is to analyze the individual candidate's situation carefully and then a specific surgical plan is formed accordingly. The principle for asymmetric face correction surgery is to achieve maximum facial balance with minimal surgical trauma. For candidates who have obvious facial middle line deviation the priority of surgery is to make the middle line straight and than other surgeries, such as facial outline correction could be performed. Only by doing this an ideal cosmetic result and possible co-exist dysfunction could be best recovered. No camouflage surgeries could really cover the middle line deformity up.

[Next]Cheek Jaw Reduction and Chin Au.. [Previous]Chin Forward Sliding and Reduct..
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 美丽旅途 -> 首页之星
面部不对称整形
2012年4月首页之星
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2012-04-02 23:50:59 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:面部不对称, 歪脸, 偏脸, 大小脸, 阴阳脸, 左右面部

面部不对称,也叫做偏脸,歪脸,大小脸或是阴阳脸畸形。造成这种畸形的原因不是很清楚,与遗传因素,先天性或后天性发育障碍,生活习惯及某些口腔颌面疾病有关。有些人的面部不对称可以找到原因,但更多面部不对称者,造成面部不对称的原因是找不到的。不管造成不对称的原因如何,面部不对称畸形的受累者面部外形的共同特点是左右面部不对称。最直观的感觉是两侧面部的宽度明显不一致,但往往两侧面部从上到下的长度,也可以说是高度,也存在明显的不一致,只不过人们把更多的注意力集中在了宽度上,经常忽视高度的不对称而已。

面部不对称整形
明显的左右面部不对称,经过外科手术整形后两侧基本对称。

歪脸整形术
从正面观察,术前及术后变化很大,但从侧面观察歪脸整形前后下颌骨及下颌角的变化不大。

大小脸整形所切下的组织
大小脸整形时不光对颌面骨骼进行调整,同时也对面部的软组织进行处理,以使术后面部更加对称。

从这位美女的术前照片中可以看出:其面部有明显的不对称,侧面部的宽度明显大于左侧,主要以中下面部的不对称为主。肉眼观察面部中线没有明显的扭曲。所以没有必要进行中线偏曲的矫正,只对面部的外形轮廓进行矫正就可得到很好效果。她的手术方案为右侧下颌骨及咬肌部分切除术,右侧颊脂肪垫取出术。其手术过程顺利,术后恢复也很平稳。右侧照片示手术切除的咬肌,颊脂肪垫和下颌骨骨片。

本页面上所展示的术后照片为手术后4个月时所拍摄。这时已经可以看出,美女的右侧面部宽度明显变小,左右两侧面部的宽度也基本上对称了。但这并不是最后的效果,再过一段时间右侧面部的宽度还会有一定程度的缩小。

虽然正面照片中两侧更对称了,但从侧面观察时右侧面的下颌骨外形没有发生很大的变化。右侧的下颌角仍然存在,而且角度也基本与术前相同。这正是本例歪脸纠正所要追求的效果。因为这位美女术前从正面观察时两侧面部宽度不对称,但侧面观察时两侧下颌骨的外形及大小没有明显的差异,而且下颌角的角度已经很大,不适合再进行任何下颌角截骨,否则下颌角的角度变的更大,侧面脸型不不美观。

面部不对称整形中最让医生头疼的就是如何事先判断应该去除的组织量,去除组织量即要达到纠正不对称的手术目的,又不能矫枉过正,造成新的明显不对称。本例术前估算组织切除量时采用了轮廓线估算法。如下图。首先取得术前面部正面照片的轮廓线图(见图片中的左侧轮廓线图)。如图片所示,A-B段及a-b段的宽度明显大于A-C段及a-c段,测量并计算出轮廓图中左右两侧面部宽度的比例关系,并转换成面部两侧实际宽度的差异值。经计算,本例受术者两侧的最大差值为9MM。也就是说通过手术让右侧面部的宽度减少9MM就可以使其两侧面部恢复对称。根据这一计算结果,再分别设计出去除肌肉,脂肪和骨骼的量,就可以很好地为术中的操作提供参考。右侧为术后轮廓图,经测量两侧宽度已基本对称。

偏脸整形术前术后分析
面部轮廓线测量法测量左右两侧面部的宽度,术前两侧明显不一致,术后两侧基本一致。

面部不对称者X线照片
牙齿的咬合平面与眶下缘的连线平行,但夹角小于15度,说明颌面部中线扭曲不明显。

面部不对称的解决方案应该具体问题具体对待,没有一种特定的手术专门对歪脸进行整形。首先要分析面部不对称是由于软组织还是骨骼的不对称引起,或是两者都存在。其次要分析偏脸畸形是由于面部的哪些部位不对称造成,以便确定手术范围。面部骨骼发育不协调所造成的歪脸畸形,除了两侧面部的宽度不对称以外,多由于单侧的发育过度或发育不足而造成一侧面部的上下长度与另一侧面部长度有明显差异,这种不协调又会引起面部中线的弯曲。整形时就不能单纯地以去除某一侧的组织为主,而是首先要纠正中线的扭曲,中线调正后,在此基础上才能再对两侧的宽度不对称进行调整。

判断有没有颌面骨骼中线扭曲的简单方法就是X线测量法。其原理是选择上面部的一个平面作为参考,检查牙齿的咬合面是否与这一参考平面平行。平行时认为面部的中线没有扭曲,不平行且夹角超过一定角度时则认为有中线扭曲。这位受术者术前X线片中(见右侧图片),下面一条红线所代表的是牙齿的咬合平面。上面红线是经过两眶骨下缘的连线,可做为上面部平面的参考线。如果面部中线不扭曲的话,这两条线是完全平行的。如果这两条线不平行而且其夹角大于15度,则说明中颌面骨的中线有明显的扭曲、或者说有明显的弯曲。

术前对本例受术者的X线中线评估显示,其咬合面与上面部参考线不平行,但所形成的夹角小于15度。所以手术设计时就没有建议进行面部中心线矫正。结果术后仍然能有满意的效果。所以对于面部不对称整形来说,最重要的是术前能够认真地分析每位受术者面部的具体情况,并做出相应的手术设计,原则上以用最简单的手术,最大程度地恢复对称性为佳。对于哪些有明显中线扭曲的受术者,则不应该首先选择姑息性手术或是掩饰性美容手术,应该首先调整中线的畸形,并在此基础上分期进行其它一些手术。只有这样才能取得最佳的美容效果,同时也能在最大程度上恢复可能存在的功能障碍。

[上一篇]宽下巴缩窄颏前移整形
更多
[下一篇]颧骨颧弓下颌骨整形自体骨隆下颏
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章