Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Deviation Facial Deformity

Homepage Star of December 2014
[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2015-01-29 11:50:46 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: deviated face, facial mddle line, vertical line, facial deformity

Deviated face is one kind of maxillofacial deformity means that the asymmetric growth of the facial bone causing three dimensional disfigure of the face. This is due to the unbalanced development of the maxillary bones. It may related to congenital or acquired situations such as injury, improper gesture or habits. For those who suffer minor facial deviation there may be no notable abnormality. Severe facial deviation may present as badly facial deformities and rendering low self esteem to the sufferer. In fact all human faces are not perfectly symmetric and no facial mid line is perfectly straight. Everybody's face is asymmetric and facial middle line angled if take a careful analysis. Correction of deviation facial deformity is a quite complex surgery. Only those whose deviation is so serious that facial deformity is present justifies a correction surgery. Though there is not confirmed guideline to make the diagnose of Deviation Facial Deformity a common believe is that the deviation of the facial middle line exceeds 3 degrees from the vertical line of the face ( a perpendicular line to the line running through both sides of the lower edges of the bonny ocular).

The facial bones in the deviation deformity face have position abnormalities in various dimensions such as swing along the vertical axis, rotation along the sagittal axis and sliding on coronal axis. The correction surgery adjusts not only the facial middle line deviation but also the other abnormalities. The facial bonny middle line deviation of this boy was 5.7 degree, accompanied were facial bone displacement and misalignment at deferent directions and levels. During surgery the maxillary and mandibular bones were osteotomized, repositioned and swung according the calculated surgical plan based on the pre surgery facial bone CT analysis. Then solid internal fixation was applied to fix the free bones at the desired position. The deviation facial deformity of this boy was corrected satisfactorily.

facial deviation plastic surgery
After the correction surgery (the right side photo) the facial middle line is straighter and the height of the face is shorter.

The real deformity of facial bone deviation disorder may not easily be shown  on the front view photo. Nevertheless the above before surgery photo on the left side still shows the left deviation of the tip of the chin and the tilt of the mouth. In the after surgery photo the face is shorter and those problems has improved.

marked facial deviation
Before surgery (the left side photo) the facial middle line is deviated from the facial vertical line. After surgery these two lines merged.

Marked photo analysis depict the deviation degree of facial middle line more effectively. In the picture on the left side the vertical line on the right side is the facial vertical line which is the line perpendicular to the lines that running through the lower edge of both sides of the bonny oculars. The angle between the two lines is about 5 degrees. This is roughly the deviation degree of this boy's face. Though the facial middle line deviates from the facial vertical line in the photo the line connecting both corners of the mouth is still perpendicular to the facial middle line. This means that the tilt degree of the teeth occlusive plan matches the degree of the facial middle line. After the correction surgery (see the photo on the right side) the facial middle line merges into the facial vertical line indicating the deviation is corrected.

deviated face in chin down position
In chin down position the pre surgery photo shows the curved facial middle line and the tip of the chin points to the right. After surgery the facial middle line is straight and the chin points to the center.

The above photo in chin down position depicts the deviation of the facial middle line. From the before surgery photo on the left side we can see the facial middle line is curve like an reversed "C". The lips are not aligned with the lower lip staggered to the right. The tip of the chin points to the right. In the after surgery photo all these abnormalities are gone.

CT image of deviated face
CT image of deviation facial deformity, the middle line of the chin goes away from the facial vertical line and the maxillary bone is not leveled.

The degree of facial bone deviation can be precisely measured in the CT image. The two vertical line in the left side photo are the facial middle line and the facial vertical line. The angle between these two lines is 5.7 degree. At the level of the chin tip the middle line swift to the right in about 12.5mm, at the level of the nasal base arouind 4.5mm. The two transverse lines in the right side photo depict the tilt degree of the maxillary bone. The height of the maxillary bone on the left side is 6mm higher than on the right side.

teeth in deviated face
After the correction of facial deviation the malocclusion of the teeth is also adjusted. In the after surgery photo (the right side photo) less gingival is exposed under the same mouth opener due to the shortening of the maxillary bone.

The above photos show the teeth occlusion and the gingival exposure area under the same mouth opener. Take the nostrils as a reference both the upper and lower set of teeth tilts to the right side. In the before surgery photo more gingival is exposed than in the after surgery photo and the left side gingival exposure is more obvious than on the right side. During the surgery the vertical height of maxillary bone is shortened so less gingival is exposed in the after surgery photo under the same mouth opener. Because of the maxillary bone is shortened the height of the whole face is shortened too.

Controlled development, a treatment method of inducing or restrict bone development during childhood can prevent facial deviation deformity that is caused by the unbalanced growth during the development phase. However the formation of facial deviation is a insidious gradual process, plus the thick subcutaneous fat coverage in children face, it is a big challenge to most of the parents to notice the hint of facial deviation. So almost all the deviation deformity is noticed at adulthood, missing the opportunity of non surgery correction by controlled development. Surgery becomes the only selection at this time. As facial deviation correction is a major surgery not every facial deviation justify a correction surgery. Deferent surgeon has deferent criteria of surgical indication for this surgery. But most surgeons agree only those whose deviation exceeds 3 degree need the surgical attention. For those facial deviation sufferer with no surgical indication camouflage surgeries may be considered to make the facial outline back to normal.

[Next]Broad Chin After Mandible Reduc.. [Previous]Chin and Jaw Plastic Surgery
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 美丽旅途 -> 首页之星
偏颌整形
2014年12月首页之星
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2015-01-15 22:08:26 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:偏颌整形, 歪脸, 上下颌骨, 咬合, 面部垂线, 中线, 中缝

偏颌,也叫歪脸是指面部的骨骼长偏了,通常最明显的感觉是下巴颏偏向了一侧。这一状况的发生是由于生长发育不对称所致,多与先天因素有关,也可以是后天外伤,姿态或生活习惯异常造成。轻者无明显的外观异常,重者可以严重影响容貌,甚至影响患者的自信。实际上面部骨骼不是绝对对称的,面部中线也没有绝对不偏的,如果仔细观察和分析,任何人的面部中线或多或少地有些偏斜。因为偏颌整形手术相对复杂,创伤比较大,只有那些面部中线明显偏离垂直中线,并有明显的外观异常者才考虑施行手术。虽然没有统一的标准来界定偏颌畸形,但一般认为下颌中线偏离面部垂线(眶底连线的垂线)3度以上为“偏颌畸形”,达不到这一偏离程度的偏颌构不成“畸形”。

偏颌畸形患者的颌面骨实际上存在多维度异常,如轴位中线摆移,矢状位上有旋转和冠状位上的漂移。所以手术时不单纯要把中线做正,更重要的是把所有这些不正常位移和旋转进行调整。本网页帅哥的上颌骨及下颌骨有5.7度的中线摆移,同时伴有其它不同轴位及不同层面的移位。手术时将上颌骨及下颌骨截开,按术前测量的异常情况和据此设计的手术方案将上下颌骨进行摆动,推移,缩进和牵开处理。最后再将移位和旋转后的骨骼进行有效的内固定,术后其偏颌畸形得到了满意矫正。

偏颌整形
偏颌整形后,脸的中线直了,同时脸的长度也变小了。

对于偏颌来说正面照片表现出来的畸形情况往往比真人的要不明显。仔细观察与对比还是会发现左侧的术前照片上嘴及下巴颏均偏向左侧。脸的长度比较大。术后照片中这些情况就有明显的好转。

偏颌整形标线
术前上面部与下面部成角,上下颌的中线与面部的垂线形成明显的夹角。术后上下颌的中线与面部垂线一致。

画线标识的照片可以更清晰地表现偏颌严重程度。左侧照片中右侧的竖线为与两眶底连线垂直的面部垂线,左侧的竖线为下颌骨的中缝线,可以看到这两条线之间形成了约5度的夹角,这大概就是这位帅哥偏颌的偏离角。从照片上可以注意到,虽然下颌的中缝线偏离了面部的垂线,但通过两侧口角的连线仍然与其垂直,表明咬合面的偏斜程度及方向与颌骨的偏斜程度一致。整形后(右侧)的照片上下颌骨的中缝线与面部的垂线一直,与通过两口角的连线垂直,说明偏颌得到了矫正,面部中线已经没有了成角和偏斜。

偏颌CT
偏颌CT,上下颌骨中线偏离垂线,上颌骨的咬合面也不再水平。

颌面骨CT片上可以更加精确地测量面部中线的成角与偏斜程度。同样左侧CT片中右侧的竖线为面部垂线,左侧者为下颌骨的中缝线。这两条线的夹角约为5.7度,在下巴颏水平,下颌向左侧的偏移距离为12.5MM,在鼻基底平面,上颌骨的偏移距离约为4.5MM。右侧CT片示上颌骨在水平面上的偏斜程度,使咬合面变水平所需要将左侧上颌骨的高度缩短的距离约为6MM。

偏颌牙齿
偏颌纠正后牙齿歪斜也得到了矫正,同时由于上颌骨的长度变小,开口时牙龈暴露程度变小。

上方的照片为手术前后,使用同一个开唇器所能见到的牙齿咬合及牙龈暴露情况。以两侧鼻孔为参考可见术前上下牙列均向左侧偏斜,两侧牙齿暴露均比术后者多,其中右侧更加明显。由于手术时缩短了上颌骨的垂直高度,所以术后使用同一开唇器所能暴露的牙龈面积变少,同理因为上颌骨的高度变小,面中部的高度变小,因此整个脸的高度也变小。

后天发育不对称所形成的偏颌在童年时可以通过诱导发育的方法进行矫治,但由于偏颌的发生是一个渐进的过程,再加上儿童较厚的皮下脂肪对颌面骨的掩饰作用,及早地发现偏颌的苗头对于大多数家长来说不是一件容易的事情。所以绝大多数后天性偏颌成人后才被注意,这时的骨骼发育已经完成,采用诱导发育的方式已经不能矫正,手术是偏颌矫正的唯一方法。但由于偏颌矫正术是相对较复杂的手术,偏离到什么程度才需要进行手术矫正各位医生所掌握的标准可能有所不同,但大多数颌面外科医生认为手术指征为偏离度应大于3度,同时还要考虑一些其它因素以平衡这一手术的可行性。对于那些偏离程度不大,不适宜手术的偏颌者,可以考虑做一些掩饰性手术对脸型轮廓进行一些调整,但这些手术均不能对咬合面的偏斜进行矫正。

[上一篇]下巴颏与下颌联合整形
更多
[下一篇]下颌骨缩小整形后下巴变宽
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章