Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Zygomatic and Mandibular Bone Surgery for the Correction of Facial Asymmetry

Homepage Star of November 2015
[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2016-09-10 08:35:29 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: asymmetric face, zygoma, mandible, differentiated osteotomy

Facial asymmetry can be caused by various factors. Among them the most common causative factors include the improper habitual such as constantly unilateral chewing or habitual torticollis, and heritage conditions such as muscular torticollis. It frequently involves both bone and soft tissue asymmetry of the face. It is very rare for facial asymmetry that only involves soft tissue or bone alone. There are different manifestation of facial asymmetry. However most facial asymmetry sufferers have facial midline deviation and tilted occlusion plan. For the correction of facial midline deviation the best choice of surgery is the bimaxillary osteotomy. For those whose facial midline is not deviated a differentiation ostectomy of the mandible bone and zygomatic bone can make the face more symmetric. As the bimaxillary osteotomy surgery is more complex than a simple reduction of the zygomatic and mandible bone some of the patients who suffer only minor midline deviation also tried the differentiated bone removal for the correction of asymmetric face with success.

The girl on this page had an asymmetric face with unknown etiology. Physical examination rolled out muscular torticollis. Her facial midline deviation was minor and her occlusion plan was only slightly tilted. For her the above mentioned bimaxillary surgery was too much. So she selected differentiated ostectomy of the mandible bone and zygomatic bone. The surgery focused on reducing the right zygomatic bone and left mandible bone plus the left masseter muscle. At the half year post-surgery follow up her facial asymmetry was greatly improved as shown in the following photos. The girl herself was satisfied with the result.

 facial asymmetry correction surgery
Facial asymmetry correction with differentiated ostectomy of the mandible bone and zygomatic bone., before and after surgery photos.

profile view of crooked face
The bigger and saggy right side of the face was reduced and lifted after surgery.

fcial asymmetry correction by zygomatic bone and mandible bone ostectomy
In chin down position the two sides of this patient's face look more symmetric in the post surgery photo on the right side.

The right side of this girl's face is much bigger than the left side in the before surgery photos. Her facial asymmetry was not caused by muscle torticollis or habitual unilateral chewing. The etiology of her facial asymmetry was unknown. Under close examination the left side of her face was generally bigger. However her zygomatic bone and zygomatic arch was more prominent on the right side. The left corner of her mouth was lower than the right side because of the oversized left face. The degree of mouth corner dropping on the left side overrun the tilt degree of her teeth occlusion plan. As she only had a minor facial midline deviation her occlusion plan was slightly tilted.

Comparing to the before surgery photos the facial asymmetry of this girl was obviously corrected. The facial sizes of both sides were balanced and the mouth corners were leveled. The right zygoma looks no more prominent after zygomatic bone and zygomatic arch reduction surgeries. In the left profile photos the size of the mandible bone and masseter muscle is reduced in the post surgery photos. In order to achieve balanced reduction effect the right zygoma was reduced accordingly. As a result the reflect area of the zygoma in the post surgery photo is smaller. In chin down position both side of the zygoma was reduced, however the right side was changed more remarkably.

For a better result this girl may need to reduce the width of the front part of her left mandible bone also known as chin bone. In the frontal and lateral view of the after surgery photos the side of the chin bone seems becoming even bigger than the opposite side. That is because the rear part of the mandible bone and the masseter muscle on this side was reduced the spared frontal part appears relatively bigger. The chin reduction surgery is simpler and safer compared to her previous surgeries.

The after surgery photos was taken only half year post surgery. At that time the scar underneath the incision still exist. The scar swelling still had some influence to the surgery result. More time was needed to allow the scar to subside. Then her face would be even more symmetric.

[Next]Nasal Bone Osteotomy Nose-narro.. [Previous]Wedged Front Part Ostectomy of ..
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 美丽旅途 -> 首页之星
颧骨下颌骨手术治疗面部不对称
2015年11月首页之星
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2016-08-25 22:16:31 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:面部不对称, 偏颌, 颧骨颧弓, 下颌骨, 咬肌,偏颌矫正

面部不对称的形成原因有很多,最常见的是由于生活习惯,比如总是用单侧咀嚼及习惯性歪头;或先天性原因,比如先天性斜颈等所致。从组织结构来讲,一般都会有骨骼及软组织同时不对称,单纯的软组织或单纯的骨骼不对称很罕见。不对称的表现形式也是多种多样的,但一般都会有中线的偏曲和咬合面偏斜。对于有中线偏曲者最好的矫正手术是上下颌骨同时截开并进行调整的偏合矫正术。对于没有中线偏曲者则可以采用颧骨颧弓及下颌骨的不对称切除的方法使面部骨骼更加对称。由于偏颌整形手术相对较大,有些轻度中线偏曲的面部不对称者也愿意选择后者进行治疗,同样可以取得满意的效果。

本首页之星之美女面部有明显的不对称,原因不明,但通过检查基本排除了先天性斜颈为致病原因的可能。从术前的照片中可见其中线偏曲并不严重,门诊检查发现其咬合面仅有轻微的歪斜。对于这位美女来说如果用上下颌骨截骨偏合矫正的手术方法就有过度手术的嫌疑,因此他选择了对颧骨颧弓及下颌骨和咬肌进行不对称切除的手术方法。手术重点将其右侧颧骨颧弓及左侧下颌骨和咬肌进行了切除,术后半年回访时见面部不对称已经有明显改善,如下列照片所示。受术者本人对手术效果表示满意。

 面部不对称矫正
面部不对称采用颧骨颧弓及下颌骨不对称截骨的方法矫正,手术前后正面照片比较。

歪脸畸形侧面
术前偏大且下垂的左侧面部经过手术后变小并上提。

颧骨下颌骨整形治疗面部不对称
低头位手术前后比较,术后者左右面部更加对称。

这位美女术前照片中左侧面部较右侧面部明显肥大,非先天性斜颈所致,外观也不符合习惯性单侧咀嚼而引起的下颌骨及咬肌肥大的表现,其面部不对称的原因不明。整体上看左侧面部比右侧面部明显发达,但仔细观察又会发现其右侧在颧骨颧弓比左侧相对突出。由于左侧面部肥大致左侧的口角较右侧下垂,下垂的程度大于咬合面偏斜的程度(由于中线偏曲不明显,其咬合面只有轻微的偏斜)。

术后正位照片可见这位美女的面部不对称得到了很好的矫正。左侧面部肥大下垂及左侧口角下垂的问题都有明显的改善。右侧的颧骨颧经过缩小整形后也不再显得那么突兀。左侧面部照片中下颌骨及咬肌的轮廓明显变小。为达到左侧面部整体缩小的效果,左侧的颧弓也进行了相应的缩小整形,表现为术后照片上的颧弓反光区缩小。低头位两侧颧弓均有缩小,但以右侧者缩小更加明显。

为取得更完美的效果,下一步还可以将左侧下颌骨的前端,也就是左侧下巴颏的骨骼进行适当缩小。从正面及左侧位的照片中可以看出,由于左侧下颌骨的中后部及咬肌进行了缩小,下颌骨的前端就显得相对大一些,这是这位美女术后仍然存在的美中不足。下颌骨前端截骨术的复杂程度及创伤相对更小,手术更加安全。

术后照片采集于术后半年,这时切口内部的疤痕并没有完全消退,所以本网页的术后照片上还有一定的肿胀成分存在。再过一段时间,内部疤痕完全消失后其两侧面部的对称性还会有一定程度的提高。

[上一篇]前端楔形截骨下颌骨缩小
更多
[下一篇]鼻骨整形宽鼻缩窄
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章