Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Surgical Correction of Bimaxillary Protrusion with Micrognathia

Homepage Star of January 2012
[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2012-03-12 17:14:08 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: bimaxillary protrusion correction, upper lower jaw protrusion, mouth protrusion

Bimaxillary protrusion also know as upper and lower jaw protrusion or mouth protrusion deformity with a characteristic facial contour of protruded mouth, teeth exposure and lip closure problem. A oral examination could reveal that the upper and lower sets of teeth stick out to the front. The upper and lower incisors normally tilting out to the front. If the frontal teeth are not tilt then the upper and lower jaw bone may protrude to the front in a great deal in those who suffer from bimaxillary protrusion, accompanying symptoms include over exposure of gum when laugh or talk, nostril over exposure and big nasal labial angle. Though many forms of protrusion can exist the fundamental abnormality of bimaxillary protrusion is the upper and lower jaw overgrowth. The reason for this overgrowth is not clear, believing related to gene form, habit, teeth abnormality and some diseases.

When a bimaxillary protrusion sufferer reaches the age of adulthood it is impossible to change the facial structure by stress induced bone development adjustment. And its accompanied function abnormalities will not be able to improve by any other means than surgery. Surgical correction of bimaxillary protrusion can make the candidate looks normal or even beautiful and at the same time to improve the functional abnormalities related to bimaxillary protrusion such as open bite, contact incisor and underbite closure etc. Bimaxillary correction surgery has been performed for many years and is a safe procedure. Under the hand of an experienced surgeon this surgery has very low complication rate, the recovery normally is very quick and no post surgical problems remain. This girl on the page has a obvious bimaxillary protrusion combined with a micrognathia and slightly lateral deviated lower jaw. After a bimaxillary protrusion correction surgery and a forward sliding genioplasty surgery she is satisfied with her post surgery result.

before and after photos of bimaxillary protrustion correction
The lips are bulging out to the front and open, the upper and lower face is not proportional in bimaxillary protrusion sufferer. After surgical correction these problems are fixed.

profile photos of bimaxillary correction surgery
In profile the facial contour line changed profoundly. Post surgery the protruded lips, retrograded chin, the short mandible bone and the lip to chin angle are also improved.

angled view of bimaxillary protrusion correction photos
The lower third of the face is no more like a withdrawn drawer in the post surgery photo. The chin and mandible bone are lengthened .

This beautiful girl let Dr. Ma did bimaxillary correction surgery first. One year later she did her forward sliding genioplasty and another year later nasal bone reduction surgery again. The post surgery photos in this page was token 4 year after her first operation. Time passes by rapidly in four years. However this determined girl has changed her total facial appearance by going into the operating room again and again patiently. During this period of changing she also exhibited her talent in self image design and her communicating skills between patient and surgeon. This is a professional girl. Her success in surgeries proved that she has a good science and good control of self image. This in turn raises her self confidence and the possibility of success in her career.

bimaxillary protrusion CT image
Saggital section CT shows the protrusion upper and lower jaw forming a sharp contrast with the retrograded chin bone.

As previously described this girl underwent three separate surgeries. The first surgery, bimaxillary correction surgery changed her facial contour mostly because bimaxillary protrusion was the biggest problem on her face. Showing on the right side CT image her upper and lower jaw bone and incisors protruded to the front in a great scale. Once this protruding problem is corrected her facial appearance is improved fundamentally. The pre surgery profile photo and the CT image also show that she had a small chin, the difference between angle SNA and angle SND reaches 15 degrees (normally around 6 degrees), which made the protrusion of mouth even more stand out. Though an "H" osteotomy had been used to move the chin forward at the same time of setting back the lower teeth by rotating the freed bone piece, the scale of forwarding chin movement is still not enough to correct the micorgnathia. Another surgery of Forward Sliding Genioplasty also know as Horizontal Osteotomy Chin Sliding Surgery was performed to slid her chin forward for 1 CM. Then she got the satisfactory final result as showing in the post surgical photos.

The nasal bone reduction rhinoplasty was designed by the girl herself. After the first two surgeries of protruding correction and chin forward sliding Dr. Ma believed that her facial appearance was good enough. However the girl didn't think so. She insist that her nose was too wide for her face. Only then Dr. paid attention to her nose and found out that her nasal bone was really a little too wide to match her already narrowed face after two sets of surgical intervention. So Dr. Ma agreed to do the rhinoplasty for her, after surgery her nose is narrower and this do improved her overall facial appearance. This shows the girl's  strong awareness of self image.

For those who suffer from bimaxillary protrusion the correction surgery is undoubtedly a high reward investment. Choosing the right indication and calculating the right amount of bone movement are key for a successful correction. An under scaled set back of bone may not completely correct the protrusion, an over scaled set back may make the candidate in an aging facial appearance. Thanks to the modern CT technology surgeons can calculate the scale of protrusion acutely and analyze the relationship between the upper and lower jaw bones, and also their relationship to the other facial bones prior to the operation. This can make the bone movement very accurate and the operating time shorter.

Facial contour surgical design could be vary even for the same face. Dr. Fushun Ma believes the principle for plastic and cosmetic surgery is to achieve the goal by doing minimal times of surgeries. For this girl as an example some consultants or every surgeons may recommend surgeries around the mouth like augmentations of nose, chin and nasal labia fold to cover the mouth protrusion. But these kinds of surgeries can't solve the main facial problem or may even make the facial structure more unbalanced.

Regarding how many surgeries can be done at one session there is no strict role. Dr. Ma does not recommend to do too many surgeries at one time and to perform a prolonged cosmetic surgery. Some surgeries can't go together. It is not a good idea to do many surgeries from head to toe at one session. If the surgery is done under general anesthesia a prolonged surgery could make the surgery receiver to take a long time to recover from the anesthesia. All cosmetic surgeries are selected surgery, not aimed to cure disease. Taking the risk of a prolonged general anesthesia only for the reason of combining surgeries together is not rational. If the surgery is under local anesthesia a prolonged surgery will cause troubles such as local anesthetic agent overdose and surgery intolerance induced by long time stiffness.

The surgeries this girl toke can't be done at the same session. First of all bimaxillary protrusion correction surgery can't go with the forward sliding genioplasty. In order to augment the chin an "H" osteotomy was performed at the protrusion correcting surgery, the lower jaw bone has already been cut through, no way to do the horizontal osteotomy. Is it good to do the genioplasty or upper and lower jaw protrusion surgery together with the rhinoplasty? The answer is no. Because the previous two surgeries are done through the mouth incisions, after surgery the swelling around the mouth and throat cause by the surgical trauma compromises the oral airway. If a nasal surgery which could block the nasal airway was performed at the same time then the whole airway is in jeopardy. For the reason of post surgery safety a combination of nasal and oral surgeries together should be avoid as possible.

In addition the interval between surgeries varies depending on different situations. For example this girl's surgeries all concentrated on the face. The final result of the previous surgery has a impact on the design of the next surgery. So her intervals between each surgery exceeded one year. Only after enough long period of settlement the surgery result from the previous surgery could be stable. Thus the next surgery can have a solid base.

Though Bimaxillary Protrusion Correction Surgery is a safe and has been done for many years, this surgery is still not very popular and many indicated person still do not get the right correction surgery. The reason for that has many. Not like a double eyelid surgery which can be performed by almost every plastic surgeon, fewer properly trained and experienced surgeons can perform protruding mouth correction surgery. When the candidate go for their consultation they may in a good chance of not finding a proper surgeon or a well informed surgical consultant, or the existing protrusion may be neglected, or even no proper surgeons that can do this surgery handy, the indicated candidates may well be advised to take some other complimentary surgeries.  The surgery seeker's knowledge toward bimaxillary protrusion all contribute to the selection of the right surgery. If a indicated candidate dose not have any idea of mouth protrusion, Dr. Ma bet most candidates do not have this information, they may not be able to find the right surgeon or right place to go to solve their problem in a right way.

[Next]V Shape Face Achieved by Cheek .. [Previous]Square Face Reduction Surgery
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 美丽旅途 -> 首页之星
双颌前突伴小颏畸形整形
2012年1月首页之星
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2012-01-01 17:32:12 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:双颌前突, 上下颌前突, 突嘴畸形, 颏前移

双颌前突,也叫做上下颌前突畸形或突嘴畸形,脸型特点是嘴过度向前突出,有时伴有牙齿外露,上下唇闭合困难等。牙齿检查就会发现上颌及下颌的牙齿均向前方突出,门牙牙尖的方向一般向前方呲出。如果牙尖不向前方呲出,则上颌骨及下颌骨明显向前方突出,表现为发笑时或说话时牙龈过度暴露,鼻孔外露,鼻唇角变大等等。尽管双颌前突的表现各不相同,但都有上下颌骨发育过度的共同特点。这种发育过度的原因尚不是很清楚,与遗传,生活习性,牙齿畸形,某些疾病等多种因素有关。

成年后由于骨骼发育已经完成,不可能通过诱导发育的方法改善上下颌前突的外观,也不能通过其它方法改变双颌前突所造成的功能障碍。但通过手术的方式对双颌前突进行治疗,的确可以完全恢复正常的外观,甚至美观,并同时矫正可能存在的诸如开合,对合,反颌等咬合畸形或功能不全。双颌前突整形术属于很成熟的颌面外科手术,手术本身安全。有经验的外科医生操作下,并发症发生率低,术后恢复也很快,不会留下任何问题。本首页之星的美女不仅有明显的双颌前突,还同时有小颌畸形,其下颌骨短小伴有一定程度的偏颌畸形。通过双颌前突整形术,及颏前移整形术,得到了满意的手术效果。

双颌前突整形前后
双颌前突整形前上下唇向前突,不容易闭合,脸的上下比例不对称,术后得到改善。

双颌整形手术照片侧面
术前术后的面部轮廓线变化明显,术后不仅前突的上下唇得到了改善,下巴颏的长度,下颌的长度及颏唇角都有很大改善。

双颌前突整形斜位
双颌前突整形后,面部的下三分之一不再象抽屉样拉出。下颌下缘明显变长,下巴颏的长度也变大。

这位美女首先让马博士给做了双颌前突整形术,一年后又做了颏前移整形,又过了一年再次做了宽鼻缩窄手术。本网页中术后的对比照片系第一次手术后4年所拍摄。4年的时间光阴如梭,可我们网页的主角却在4年的时间里用很大的决心和耐心,一次次地走上手术台,凭着自己的智慧为自我设计了目标容貌,与手术医生充分勾通,终于实现了自己在外貌上的华丽转变。这是一位事业型的女孩,手术的成功充分地证明了她对自我有正确的认识,对自己的形象有很好地把握。整形手术的成功反过来也会让她在工作和生活中更加自信,在事业上取得更大成功。

双颌前突CT片
矢状切面CT片中可见上下颌骨前突,与后缩的下颏形成明显的角度差。

前文已经叙述这位美女分次做了三项手术,第一次手术是双颌前突整形术,是改变她外观最大的手术。这是因为她术前上下颌及牙齿明显地向前突出超出了正常范围,如右侧CT片所示。致使她的面部轮廓线条不美观,也可以说这是她面部的最大问题。这一问题一旦矫正她的容貌就有很大的提升。从术前的照片及CT片上都可以看出美女术前不只是单纯的双颌前突,同时还伴有明显的下颏后缩,造成SNA角与SAD角的差值高达15度。虽然在下颌后推时采用了“H”截骨旋转后推法,在后推牙齿的同时让下巴向前移动,但下颏的前移程度仍不能满足正常外观的要求。所以二期还需水平截骨颏前移整形术,有人也叫做下巴前移或前拉术,使下颏点向前移动了1CM,才达后术后照片中的效果。

鼻骨缩窄术则是这位美女自己设计的,马博士认为她做了双颌前突及颏前移整形后面部外观上已经没有问题了,但她自己则认为不然,觉得她自己的鼻子配她的脸庞来说有点宽了。这时马博士才注意后她原本就比较宽大的鼻子(见术前正面照片),配合经过整形后已经变的窄长的脸,看上去确实有些不协调。就同意给她做了缩窄手术,手术后她的鼻子变窄了,鼻梁也变高了一些,看上去好很多。可见这位美女的审美观和自我设计能力很强。

对于适应人群来说,双颌前突整形术不失为一收益与付出比很高的手术。正确的选择手术方式和操作,特别是正确地计算上下颌骨后推的距离对于取得好的手术效果至关重要。后推不足不能完全改善容貌,后推过度又会造成双颌后缩,使人显得苍老。好在通过CT成像技术可以很精确地测量突出的程度,并能使手术大夫很好地了解上下颌骨之间及其与面部其它骨骼之间对应关系。比传统的利用手术中目测判断后推量的方法更精确,同时手术时间也明显缩短。

脸形改造的手术设计多种多样,同一张面孔可以设计出千差万别的手术方案,但马福顺博士认为,用最少的手术解决主要矛盾是整形美容外科的基本原则。比如这位美女,可能有些咨询师甚至整形医生都会认为,垫鼻子,隆下巴,隆鼻唇沟等等,围绕着嘴的周围一次性做很多手术,以掩盖嘴突的问题,等于没有抓住主要矛盾,这样不能从根本上解决矛盾,反而有可能会使面部更不协调。

关于同时能做多少项手术没有严格的规定,马博士认为,从手术的安全性和术后效果的角度来说,一次进行的手术数量不宜过多,手术时间不宜过长,有些手术是不能同时做的。一次做十好几项手术从头做到脚的做法是不可取的,当然有时候为了收费的需要故意把一项手术说成好几项手术的情况另当别论。如果是全麻手术,全麻下的生理状态与正常不同,长时间处于这种状态下术后恢复时间长。因为疾病需要手术不得不长时间麻醉可以理解,但很多项可以分次进行的整形美容择期手术一起做,受术者长时间处于麻醉状态下没有必要。局麻也一样,长时间的手术有可能造成局麻药物过量,及长时间僵持状态的不适应,有时受术者不能耐受。

对于本例来说,这几项手术都是不能一起做的。首先,双颌前突与颏前移手术不能一起做,为了在双颌前突整形时能让下颏前移,本例采用了“H”型截骨下颌骨旋转后推的方法,下颏已经截开,所以不能再做水平截骨。那么双颌前突或颏前移能不能和鼻骨缩窄一起做呢?也不能。因为双颌前突手术或颏前移手术在口腔内操作,术后口腔内肿胀加上术后包扎使口腔的通气功能受到影响,如果再同时做鼻子的手术,鼻腔的肿胀也会影响通气,整个通气功能会受到影响,术后不安全,所以口腔和鼻腔的手术不能一起做。

另外,多项手术的时间隔因具体情况而定。这位美女这几项手术都在面部,上一次手术的效果对下一次手术的设计和操作都有一定的影响,所以每次手术之间的间隔都超过了一年。只有经过了足够长的时间间隔,上一次手术的效果才比较实落。受术者本人及医生对下一次手术的设计才比较有把握。

虽然双颌前突的手术整形已经有很长的历史,手术也很安全,但我们还是会注意到有很多需要做这种手术的求美者没有得到适当的手术治疗。这与很多因素有关,比如这一手术不象双眼皮手术那样几乎所有整形美容外科医生都能做,能够大量熟练做这一手术的医生少,所以到医院咨询的时候如果遇不到合适的医生,或是不能发现双颌突的问题存在,或是发现了问题但自己或自己熟悉的医生不能做,结果多被劝做其它手术。另外与求美者自我分析问题的能力有关,如果没有这方面的知识,其实大多数人不会有这方面的知识,就不太容易找到相关的医生,也就多不能解决问题。

[上一篇]由字脸整形
更多
[下一篇]颧骨颧弓整形后变瓜子脸
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章