Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Mandible Angle Resection Mandible Plasty

Homepage Star of July 2015
[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2016-02-01 22:05:24 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: mandible angle, mandible resduction, square face, face reduction

Some of the square face is mainly due to the overgrowth of the mandible angle, while the masseter muscle is not remarkably oversize. In this sense the mandible angle should be bulkily chop off in order to get rid of the square shape of the lower face. When we cut one corner off from a square we get a pentagon. Similarly if we cut the angle of the mandible  off straightly we get two angles. To avoid the formation of double mandible angles the mandible body and mandible edge should also be trimmed accordingly ensuring the smooth transition from the reshaped mandible angle to the body. Those who have big mandible angles usually have hypertrophic masseter muscle thought the muscle may not bulge out. Once the muscle attachment at the mandible angle is released the muscle mass will show off. So the author routinely do partial muscle resectomy with the angle reduction.

The young man in this page had a typical square face. Though the size of his face was not big his facial organs were crowdly located in the middle of his face. So there was  indication for him to do a mandible reduction surgery to make his facial outline smaller. The diagnosis of benign mandibular hypertrophy can be made based on physical examination. However CT scanning of the facial bone is recommended before surgery to rule out disease or conditions that could cause localized mandible angle enlargement such as Fibrous Dysplasia and Bone Cyst.

Mandible Angle Resection Mandible Plasty
In this case the mandible reduction was mainly concentrated on the mandible angle, after surgery the facial contour improved remarkably.

mandible angle reduction
Chin up position the mandible angle is much smaller in the after surgery photo and they are also more symmetric.

mandible reducction mainly concentrated on the mandible angle
Mandible angle reduction doesn't mean cut the mandible angle completely but reserve it and let the reduced angle match the rest of the mandible bone.

angle reduction for mandible bone
Before surgery the mandible bone seems too big for his face. After surgery its size match the face better.

The surgery this young man underwent was mandible bone reduction (angle reduction dominated) plus masseter muscle partial resectomy. Because the angles of his mandible were not eversion, instead they protruded posterior inferiorly, lateral mandible cortex or mandible lower edge reduction alone could not effectively trim down the size of the mandible bone and could not improve the facial figure of this young man. What he needed was a mandible angle reduction with a supplemental mandible body reduction. He eventually did angle dominated mandible reduction. Upon 6 years post surgery follow-up he was satisfied with his post surgery result.

As the post surgery photos were taken 6 year after surgery all swelling and internal scar had been subsided completely at this time, the after surgery photos at this page presents a stabilized post surgery result. A remarkable change can be noticed if comparing the before and after surgery photos. However there is no traces of localized indentation or "horse face" deformity caused by overdone straight line osteotomy mandible angle reduction. This is a male patient with thin subcutaneous tissue and also 6 years had been passed since his surgery, there was enough time for any kinds of swelling to be absorbed, so any defect on the mandible bone will show off. Since not signs of deformity on the lower face it is safe to say the shape of his mandible bone normal.

In the frontal view photos the mandible angles area changed in a great deal, as a result the size of the lower face reduces largely and his facial organs are no more crowded but fairly spread out on the parameter of the face.  In other angle of view, the mandible angles are much smaller in the after surgery photos. However the mandible angle still be noticeable as an anatomical landmark on the face. The size of the mandible bone is also smaller and fit to the size of the whole face well.

[Next]Bimaxillary Plastic Surgery For.. [Previous]Angle Reserve Mandible Reductio..
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 美丽旅途 -> 首页之星
切除下颌角为主的下颌骨整形
2015年7月首页之星
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2016-01-27 23:32:09 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:下颌角, 下颌角切除, 下颌骨整形, 方脸, 男士下颌骨

有些方脸整形的求美者方脸形成的主要原因是下颌角的过度发育,咬肌并没有明显的肥大。这种情况下要改变方脸的外观就需要重点把下颌角的骨骼进行切除和修整,但同时又不能象切桌子角那样切掉一个角把“四角桌”变成“五角桌”,而是应该把下颌角大幅度缩小的同时保留下颌角并使下颌角与下颌体有自然的过渡。要使这一过渡自然一般需要把整个下颌骨甚至下巴颏都按不同的比例进行缩小,这样才不会在下颌角缩小后缩小部分与没有缩小部分有明显的交界痕迹。下颌角过大者往往同时有咬肌的肥大,有时咬肌看上去不大,一旦下颌角切除后咬肌回缩,就会显出肥大的咬肌。所以笔者常规同时进行部分咬肌切除。

本网页所展示的帅哥有一张很典型的四方脸。虽然他的整个面部并不是很大,但由于他的五官比较集中,所以也是下颌骨缩小瘦脸整形的适应证。下颌骨良性肥大的诊断通过望诊就可作出判断,但一般还是应该在术前做CT检查,以排除可能存在的会引起局部骨骼肥大的病理状态,比如“骨纤维异常增殖症”,“骨囊肿”等都可以使病变部分的骨骼增生致外观上肥大。

切除下颌角为主的下颌骨整形
该例下颌骨缩小整形以切除下颌角为主,通过切除下颌角及相应的切除下颌骨的其它部分,脸形有明显改善。

下颌角缩小
术后仰头位可见下颌角明显变小,对称性也比术前改善。

下颌角切除为主的下颌骨缩小
下颌角缩小并不是把下颌角完全切除,而是仍保留下颌角并使缩小的下颌角与下颌骨的其它部分自然衔接。

下颌角缩小整形
术前的下颌骨显得很大,术后者显著缩小与面部其它部分的比例协调。

这位帅哥所施行的手术为下颌骨缩小(以下颌角切除为主)加咬肌部分切除。因为他的下颌角没有明显的外翻,而是以向下向后生长为主,单纯的外板切除或下颌缘切除均不可能有效地改善下颌骨过大造成的外观不良。只有把下颌角大幅度切除后再对下颌骨的其它部分同时处理才能得到比较好的效果。这位帅哥进行的是以切除下颌角为主的下颌骨整形加咬肌部分切除术,术后6年复诊时他对手术效果表示很满意。

由于术后照片为手术后6年采集,这时肿胀已完全消退,照片所见可以说是术后比较稳定的效果。各个角度的照片中都可以看到手术前后的明显变化,但没有出现因为下颌角切除过多或下颌骨切除过度所造成的“马脸”外观或局部凹陷。术后6年已经有足够的时间让疤痕软化,另外由于本受术者为男性,面部的皮下脂肪相对较薄,如果手术造成下颌骨不平或缺损的话很容易显露出来。这位帅哥从外表上看不到术区有任何问题,不用做CT检查就可以推断他术后的下颌骨外形是自然的。

从正面照片看,手术重点对下颌角进行了切除,术后帅哥的脸形变化很明显,下面部明显缩小,面部五官分布与术前比较不再那么集中,而是很均衡地分布在面部轮廓上。其它角度的照片上则可以清晰地看到明显缩小了的下颌角,但下颌角做为一个解剖结构仍然存在。下颌骨的体积均匀缩小,下颌骨在整个面部不再显得突兀。

[上一篇]保留下颌角的下颌骨整形
更多
[下一篇]上下颌前突整形重塑笑容
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章