Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Is Visible Bone Fragments Been Taken out in Facial Bone Filing Reduction Surgery

[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2011-10-20 10:10:04 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: bone filing, facial bone reduction, bone dust, bone fragment

The so called facial bone filing reduction means a surgical bone filing method been used in facial bone reduction surgeries to make the face slimmer. Here the facial bone reduction surgeries often refer to the Zygoma Reduction and the Mandible Bone Reduction. Those two facial bone reduction surgeries are the most popular face slimmer surgeries among Asian people.

How is the facial bone filing surgery done? Like its name bone filing means to file down the big bone to a smaller one in order to make the face slimmer. The simple tool for bone filing is something like a wood file used by carpenter. Surgeons manually file the facial bones which need to be trimmed down with this instrument. A more sophisticated bone filing tool employ a electric motor to drive the filing tip either in a rotating or in a reciprocate movement. From its mechanism of these bone filing tools we could tell that the trimmed away bone tissue has been grinded to dust, no fragments of bone left. So there is no visible bone been taken out in facial bone filing reduction, only bone dust can be seen.

Then is the patient be able to see the bone dust after the surgery? They normally will not be able to see the bone dust. We can imagine that there is a tremendous heat been generated by the filing tool moving continuously over the bone, especially in the use of the electric motor driving tools. To avoid heat injury to the surrounding tissue saline is used to flash the filing site constantly and the flash saline then is been sucked away. The bone dust filed down is flashed off from the site and sucked away simultaneously in these processes, no bone dust left for the patient to see after the surgery. In case the bone dust is substantial some of the dust my settled down on the operation instrument or the bottom of the surgical wound. I this case if the surgeon want to keep the dust the patient may be able to see the them after the surgery.

high speed filing bone dust
Under high speed electric bone filing the bone dust is fine, uniform and jelly in water. The bone dust in this photo settled on the protecting retractor.

low speed filing bone dust
Under low speed filing the bone dust is rough and uniform. The size of the particles in the dust depend on the grove depth of the filing tip.

manual filing bone dust
Manual filing bone dust. The manual movement of the filing tool is variable. So the size of the particle in the bone dust is not uniform.

However bone fragments can be seen in facial bone reduction by ostectomy. If the patient wants to take a look at the bone fragments removed from his or her body and tells the surgeon in advance he or she can physically see the removed bone fragments. They can choose to keep the bone or to discard it properly. In contrary if the facial bone reduction is done be facial bone filing even the patient demand to have a look at the bone the surgeon may not be able to provide any because no bone fragment can be taken off in filing process.

bone fragment trimmed off
In order to preserve an ideal ship of the remaining bone the bone fragments been trimmed off vary in size and ship. These fragments are too big to be sucked away and can only be taken out.

Some people may misunderstand the concepts of ostectomy, osteotomy and bone filing believing that all facial bone reduction surgeries are done by bone filing. Never the less if we expending the concept of bone filing to include ostectomy and osteotomy then we can really see the bone fragments been trimmed off by "bone filing" in some the operations that actually cut the bone. If we confine the concept bone filing strictly to actual bone filing then we could not be able to see any bone fragment been trimmed off in the facial bone reduction process.

[Next]What You Should Know About Jaw .. [Previous]End
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 面部骨骼整形 -> 下颌整形
磨骨可以看到切下的骨头吗
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2011-10-21 12:50:43 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:磨骨, 骨头, 骨块, 骨末, 截骨, 瘦脸手术, 骨骼碎屑

我们现在常说的磨骨就是指瘦脸整形时,为了使面部变小所使用的骨骼磨削技术。这里所指的瘦脸整形可以是颧骨颧弓缩小,也可以是下颌骨缩小整形。这些都是常见的面部磨骨整形手术。

磨骨瘦脸是怎么实现的呢。顾名思义,磨骨就是利用工具将肥大的骨骼磨小,以达到瘦脸目的。最早使用的工具是一种在工作原理上象木锉的骨锉,人工将肥大的骨骼锉小。后来有了各种各样的电动工具,以电动的方式使特制的磨削工具转动或往复运动,产生磨削动作,使骨骼变小。从磨骨的工作原理上我们可以看出,在磨骨的时候被磨掉的骨骼都变成了碎屑,并不是成形地被切下来的。所以磨骨时是看不到切下来的骨头的,能够看到的只是磨下来的骨骼碎末。

接受磨骨手术的受术者能够看到磨骨时磨下来的碎末吗?一般是不能的。磨骨时磨骨工具与骨骼摩擦会产生大量的热,尤其是电动的磨骨工具更是这样。所以手术时为了防止骨骼及其周围组织被磨骨所产生的热能灼伤,都会用盐水冲洗作业面以降温。冲洗的盐水又被吸引器吸走。冲水及吸水的同时会把磨下的骨末冲掉并且吸走。所以一般情况下术后受术者是看不到切磨下来的骨末的。特殊情况下,磨骨碎末很多时,可能有些碎末会沉淀的手术器械或切口的深层,这种情况下受术者有可能会在术后看到磨下来的骨末。

高速磨骨时磨下的骨骼碎末
使用高速磨骨工具时,由于工具的转速快,磨下的骨骼碎末比较均匀,颗粒细小,遇水成糊状。本照片中这些骨末粘附在了手术用的保护拉勾上。

低速磨骨工具磨下的骨骼碎末
使用低速磨骨工具磨下的骨骼碎末颗粒大,比较均匀。影响骨骼碎末颗粒大小的主要因素就是所使用磨具表面的曲纹深度。

手动磨骨磨下的骨骼碎末
手动磨骨得到的骨骼碎末。由于磨骨时,手动的速度不一致,磨下来的骨骼碎末大小不均匀。

切骨或截骨时则可以看到手术中切下来的骨头,如果受术者在术前有交待要保留或看看自己切下来的骨头,手术医生都会把术中切下来的骨头留下来交给受术者看,然后再进行处理或让受术者自行处理。相反,如果瘦脸整形所采用的技术是单纯的磨骨的话,即使受术者术前要求看切下来的骨头,术后手术医生也不能为其提供任何骨头。

截骨所切下来的骨骼块
为了使保留下来的骨骼外形更加规整,截骨瘦脸时切下来的骨块一般都会大小不一,成形。这些骨块体积较大,不能用吸引器吸走,只能从切口中取出。

然而,有些朋友没有把切骨、截骨和磨骨处分开来。认为只要是瘦脸手术就是磨骨,磨这里的骨,磨那里的骨。如果把磨骨范花,意指所有的切骨和截骨手术的话,则“磨骨”也可以看到切下的骨头。如果精确地定义磨骨的话,磨骨手术后是看不到切下的骨头的,最多也只能看到磨下来的骨末。

[上一篇]下颌角整形注意什么
更多
[下一篇]咬肌切除与肉毒素注射
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章