Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Revision Surgery for Overdone Mandible Angle Reduction

[ Author:Fushun Ma | Time:2011-10-20 10:13:04 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags: revision surgery, mandible angle reduction, over reducted mandible bone

In order to achieve a dramatic surgical result the mandible bone often be over resected in a mandible angle reduction surgery. Many years ago mandible reduction surgery was not very popular and the surgeons didn't have chance to observe the facial contour changes in long term post operation patients. So they focused on the short time reduction result by cut off bigger piece of the mandible bone. Even more some clinics charge their patients by the weight of the removed mandible bone. In that circumstances a overdone reduction surgery can easily happens. Now, many surgeon have already know the possible long term side effect of mandible over reduction and the progress in surgical technique provides more selections of surgical approach to make the face narrower than just cut off a bigger piece of the mandible bone. The rate of overdone mandible angle reduction is lower. However still many patients with over reduced mandible angle need to do a revision surgery to mandate their more and more obvious deformity such as "horse face deformity". And still some reduction surgeries have been overdone by some inexperienced surgeons. So once a while a over reduced mandible bone revision surgery can be encountered by Dr. Fushun Ma.

 revision surgery of over resected mandible bone
The photo on the left shows an unsatisfactory result after over reduction of the mandible bone. Photo on the right shows the facial contour has been improved after a revision surgery.

profile photos of over reducted manidlbe revision surgery
Before the revision surgery the mandible bone line is indented. After revision the natural mandible line reappears.

comparison pictures of over reducted mandible bone revision surgery
Before revision the mandible line from the ear lobe to the chin is straight. After revision surgery this line is back to the normal curved formation.

 CT image of over reduced mandible bone CT image of normal mandible bone
On the left is the CT image of this girl's mandible. Comparing to the normal mandible CT image on the right
 side the lower edge of the mandible bone of this girl is too straight and the angle of mandible (  larger,  greater than 130 degree.

Previously the girl in these pictures did zygoma and zygomatic arch reduction surgery and mandible reduction surgery in order to make her face slimmer. She ended up with an unsatisfactory surgery result because her mandible bone was over resected and only the front end of her zygomatic arch was pushed inward using Frontal End Zygoma and Zygomatic Arch Reduction approach. The lower part of the face is too narrow and the rear end of the zygomatic arch remains wide giving a "diamond shape" face. The over reduction of the mandible bone made her face too narrow on the lateral view giving a "horse face" look. As time goes by this girl's facial contour changes and she get more and more unsatisfied about her look. Finally she made her mind to do the revision surgery more than ten years later after her first operation. The revision surgery couldn't give her "original" face back as she wished. However her face does look more natural and more balanced. Most of all she is satisfied with the revised facial contour.

Finding the right approach for the revision surgery

Theoretically the over resected mandible bone should be restored by bone graft to make the shape and size back to normal and to mandate any possible indentations left on the mandible bone by the reduction srugery. In fact many years ago the revision surgery was done like that. Some bone tissue harvested from the patients own body was grafted into the mandible to fill the bone defect. As autologous bone graft needs to cut patients own bone there will be another surgical wound and also the bone tissue is difficult to carve. So many surgeons turned to synthetic materials such as steel plate, artificial bone and solid silicon.  For this kind of materials the big challenge to the plastic surgeons is fixing the implant to the receipt mandible bone because the lower edge and the corner of the mandible bone are not connected to any other part of the facial bones. It is difficult to fix the foreign materials into the bone. Often the mandible movement will make the fixing screw loose. On the other hand the implanted foreign materials prolonged pressing on the receipt tissue will cause local tissue atrophy and discomfort.

In order to find a minimal invasive, none foreign body related approach of mandible bone restoration Dr. Fushun Ma tried autologous fat graft to improve the unsatisfactory facial outline caused by mandible bone over resection during the mandible and mandible angle reduction surgery. This approach turned out to be very effective.  This girl's revision surgery was done by fat graft. Two years follow up pictures show the survival rate of the fat is good and post revision mandible lower line and mandible corner looks good. This is not a isolated case. Dr. Ma has applied fat graft for several dozens of mandible over resection patients for restoring their facial outline. All of them improved.

Fat graft can only fix the facial outline not the mandible bone itself. As a matter of fact no approach can perfectly restore the original shape and size of the mandible bone once it has been over trimmed. What we can only do is to mandate the shape of the face to make it looks smoother and normal. After fat graft the whole facial appearance could be improved. However if you feel the mandible bone and CT scan the mandible bone its size and shape remains as before the revision. Further more as the survival rate of the grafted fat varies from patient to patient and from surgeon to surgeon more than one sessions of surgery may be needed to achieved a good result. However like this girl most of Dr. Fushun Ma's patient of mandible revision surgery using fat graft are satisfied by just one operation.

Background story

Dr. Fushun Ma knew this girl since more than ten years ago. In order to avoid confusion we name this girl "Lily". At that time Lily and her friend came to see Dr. Ma for a consultation of mandible reduction surgery. Lily let her friend to do the surgery first and she waited and observed her friend for a month. Lily concluded that her friends face changed not as much she thought it would be. So Lily went to another plastic surgeon and did her mandible reduction surgery there. One more month passed Lily's friend came back to see Dr. Fushun Ma and asked Dr. Ma to do the reduction surgery again because she thought the post operation change was too subtle to satisfy. It is at that time that Dr. Fushun Ma knew that Lily already did her surgery by another surgeon and Lily's facial reduction effect of one month post operation is dramatic. Seeing this Lily's friend started to worry the effectiveness of her surgery and wanted to redo the surgery.

Back then Dr. Ma didn't have much experience on mandible reduction surgery. Without seeing Lily Dr. Ma couldn't predict the long tern result of Lily's surgery. As Lily's friend had just had her surgery in less 3 months the scaring in the surgery site was most severe at that post operation time period. It was too early to redo the mandible reduction surgery. So Dr. Ma asked Lily's friend to come back 6 months later to do another reduction surgery for free.

Lily and her friend did their surgeries in 1994. Mandible reduction surgery was not very popular then and not many people wanted to trim their face by dong mandible reduction surgery. So these two girls story impressed Dr. Ma very much and Dr. Ma always beared in mind that one day Lily's friend would come back to redo the surgery. 6 months later Lily's friend didn't come. Another one year past Lily's friend still didn't show up. Dr. Ma didn't have any contact information of these two girls at that time. Two years went away since Dr. Ma last saw Lily's friend when Dr. Ma felt disappointed for lost the post surgery follow up of Lily's friend Lily showed up, not for her friend but for hersulf. Lily told Dr. Ma that her friend's face looked more and more beautiful as the swelling went away after she last saw Dr. Ma while Lily's face looked more and more unnatural with timing. Lily's friend turned to be very satisfied with her surgery result. It is Lily's turn to see Dr. Ma. Lily wanted Dr. Ma to take a look at her face to see what had happened.

After some visual assessment and local physical check up Dr. Ma felt that the mandible reduction of Lily was overdone making her face looked unnatural. However her facial contour didn't looked as bad as in the photos of more than ten years later (showing on this page). So Dr. Ma persuaded Lily to give up any thought of doing a revision surgery.

Soon after that Dr. Ma went abroad studying and working for 6 years. When Dr. Ma came back to work in Beijing again his contact information already changed Lily still managed to find Dr. Ma insisting on doing a revision surgery by Dr. Ma. Dr. Ma toke some pictures of Lily again. Comparing to the pictures token 6 years ago her facial contour really changed a lot. She made her mind to do anything to restore her "original" face even a slightly improvement toward it would meet her goal. Lily didn't want to use any synthetic materials for the revision surgery because she previously had some unhappy experience with the artificial implants in her body and she also didn't want to cut her own bone from some other place in her own body. This made her surgery more complicated.  As Dr. Ma wasn't sure how to meet her requirement he postponed her surgery for another couple of years until Lily agreed to try fat graft and the revision surgery was finally carried out.

[Next]Mandible Angle Reduction Surger.. [Previous]What You Should Know About Jaw ..
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 面部骨骼整形 -> 下颌整形
切除过多下颌角修复
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2011-10-21 12:46:59 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:下颌角磨骨, 下颌骨切除过多, 下颌骨修复, 脂肪移植

下颌角磨骨手术方脸整形时,为了追求瘦脸效果而过多地切除下颌骨的情况经常发生。尤其是前些年在下颌磨骨刚刚兴起的时候,由于对下颌骨切除后远期变化的认识不足,为能够在短期内看到明显的效果,医生就多切除一些骨头,甚至有些机构还以切除骨头的多少收费,所以切除过多的情况更是常见。随着外科医生对骨骼切除后远期变化的认识加强,以及手术技术的改进,大部分医生已经不再用切除大量骨骼的方法增强瘦脸效果,但早期已经切除过多或目前少部分医生仍采用大量切除方法所造成的不良外观,例如马脸畸形等可能需要修复。

 切骨过多下颌角修复
左侧照片,下颌角磨骨整形时下颌骨切除过多,正面外形不满意。右侧照片,修复手术后外形改善。

切除过多下颌角骨修复前后侧位
修复前可见下颌骨的下缘凹陷,应有的弧线消失。修复后下颌下缘的弧线自然流畅。

下颌骨切除过多修复前后对比
修复前从耳垂下方到下巴颏,下颌骨下缘的外形是一条直线。术后这一直线畸形得到了纠正。

 下颌角切除过多CT图片 正常下颌骨CT图片
左侧是这位美女下颌骨磨骨后下颌骨的CT片,与右侧没有手术过的下颌骨相比,见下颌下缘呈直线状,
下颌角的角度(

照片上的这位美女做了颧骨颧弓整形和下颌角整形,也叫做颧骨颧弓磨骨及下颌角磨骨瘦脸手术,本来想让自己的脸变瘦一些,但最后结果不满意。问题是在下颌角整形时,将下颌骨过多地切除,颧骨颧弓整形时采用了颧骨颧弓前端截骨的方法,只把颧骨颧弓的前段变窄了,但颧弓的后半部分,也就是耳朵前方的部分显得更加突出,造成了从正面看“陀螺脸”,从侧面看“马脸”的外观。随着时间的推移,这种不满意的外貌改变越明显。自己也越来越觉得应该进行修复,所以在她第一次手术十几年后下定决心选择了修复手术。修复后虽然不能达到象她期待的那样--完全恢复手术前的样子,但面部的整体轮廓比修复前有很大提升,她也对修复手术效果表示满意。

修复手术方式的选择

理论上来讲,过多切除或磨除了下颌骨所造成的不良外观,应该用填充骨骼的方式来修复,以恢复已经变的过小或局部有凹陷的下颌骨的外形。实际上早期的下颌骨修复手术也是这样做的。用从受术者自己身体其它部位取得的骨骼组织,移植到下颌骨进行下颌骨的修复。由于自体骨来源不容易,再加上移植骨的塑形及固定难等因素,使很多医生选择了比如钢板,人工骨或固体硅胶等具有一定强度和硬度的人工材料来进行修复。然而将这些人工材料永久地固定在下颌骨上对整形外科医生也很挑战,因为下颌角及下颌骨下缘均为游离缘,且经常处于运动状态,即使用钛钉进行固定,随着钛钉周围的骨质吸收,假体也有可能在若干年后出现松动。另外,人工材料对于人体来说毕竟是异物,都会造成对其周围组织的压迫,引起吸收和不适。

为了找到简单易行,创伤小,不在体内留下异物的下颌骨修复方法,马福顺博士试用了自体脂肪移植,对在下颌骨磨骨时过度切除下颌骨的受术者进行修复,取得了很好的效果。这一位美女修复切除过多的下颌骨时就是利用了自己的脂肪进行填充的。修复手术后两年拍摄的修复后照片,可见脂肪成活良好,修复后下颌下缘外形满意。在这位美女的修复手术之前及之后,马福顺博士也利用自体脂肪移植的方法,对于其它一些因为下颌骨切除过度而出现面形不满意者进行了修复,均取得很好的效果。

脂肪移植的修复方法只能从外观上对面部的外形轮廓进行修复,不能真正地把下颌骨进行复原,实际上不论用那种方法都不可能复原下颌骨,只能追求面形上的改观。利用自体脂肪进行下颌骨修复后,用手触摸下颌骨及用CT对下颌骨成像时,下颌骨的手感及影像学并不会有改变。另外,脂肪移植时其成活率的不同对最终手术效果也产生影响,但优点是可以进行多次脂肪填充直至达到理想的目标为至。正像这位美女一样,马福顺博士修复的下颌骨多数只需要一次脂肪填充就满意,但也有需要经过几次注射才满意者。

背景故事

马福顺博士认识这位姑娘是在她修复手术十几年之前,为了叙述方便,我们暂且给这位美女起名为“Lily”。当时Lily还有她的一位朋友找到马福顺博士咨询,要做下颌角磨骨瘦脸手术。Lily先让她的朋友找马博士做了手术,她观察了自己的朋友一个多月,总觉得她的朋友脸形变化的好象不够大。于是Lily就找另一位整形外科医生为她做了手术。又过了一个多月后Lily的朋友找到马博士说自己的手术效果不明显,没有Lily的脸形变化大,问能不能再做一次。经过询问,马博士才知道原来Lily找另一个医生做了手术,手术后一个多月就能看到明显的手术效果。所以Lily的朋友才着急了。

当时马博士没有见到Lily本人,下颌磨骨的经验也不多,所以不敢说Lily的远期效果会如何。由于Lily的朋友,也就是马博士的手术客人才手术后刚刚三个月,正好处于局部疤痕反应明显,再次手术不好做的时候,要想再做一次时间还太早。于是马博士就劝Lily的朋友再等半年,如果还是觉得不满意可以找马博士免费再做一次。

Lily及她的朋友做手术的时间在1994年,当时下颌磨骨手术不象现在这么流行,做的人不是很多,所以马博士印象很深。也一直把Lily的朋友有可能再回来做一次手术的事情记在心上,等她回来找马博士。可是等了半年她没有来,等了一年还是没有来。马博士没有留Lily朋友的电话,也没有Lily的电话,所以没法与她们联系。等到二年的时候Lily的朋友还没有来,马博士觉得她不会来了,正为不知道Lily朋友恢复如何而感到遗憾的时候,Lily来找马博士了,不是为她的朋友,而是为自己而来,因为她觉的自己的手术效果不好,没有马博士给她朋友做的好看。想让马博士看看是怎么回事。这时马博士才知道,原来Lily的朋友找完马博士后没有多久,肿再消一些,Lily的朋友就对手术效果很满意了,所以不来找马博士。而是轮到Lily自己找马博士了。

当时,马博士看了Lily的手术后脸形,经过对Lily手术部位的检查,觉得下颌骨切的是稍微有些多,使面形看上去不自然。但是脸形的不自然还没有象十几年后照片中所示的那么明显,觉得没有必要再做一次手术,也就把她劝回去了。

之后不久马博士就出国了,在国外呆了六年后回来,原来的联系方式也都换了,没有想到的是Lily还是想方设法找到了马博士。这时马博士又给她照了相,发现她比若干年前还是有了不小的变化,这些变化的结果使她的脸形更加不自然,与Lily的朋友比容貌差距更大了。因些她就是咬准了要找马博士为她修复,一开始马博士总感觉她的手术不好做,她也有在身体其它部位放置假体后不适又取出的经历,所以不愿意用任何假体修复,取自己的骨头也不太情愿。找不到合适的修复方法,又拖了几年。直到她同意了用自体脂肪进行修复后才把修复手术给做了。

 

[上一篇]瘦脸效果明显的下颌角整形对比照片
更多
[下一篇]下颌角整形注意什么
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章